Bayley, Mactier give Aussies golden start at World Cup

Report and results from the first night in Sydney


Dual Olympic champion Ryan Bayley and Athens silver medallist Katie Mactier delivered Australia a golden opening night at the cycling World Cup season opener here Friday.


Bayley continued his build-up to next year’s Beijing Games by spearheading Australia’s Team Toshiba to victory in the men’s team sprint final, while Mactier claimed gold in the women’s individual pursuit.

Australia’s time trial world record holder Anna Meares took silver in the women’s sprint as she seeks to make the event her own for the Olympics after her pet 500m event was dropped from the Olympic Games.

Australia’s professional track team of Bayley and team-mates Daniel Ellis and Shane Kelly clocked 44.639sec in the three-lap event to down German team Rad-Net (44.813), while a French Cofidis team that included world champion team member Arnaud Tournant took bronze.

Meares was pipped by Dutchwoman Willy Kanis in the women’s sprint while Natallia Tsylinskaya of Belarus took bronze.

Ukrainian Volodymyr Dyudya won the individual pursuit gold medal race and New Zealander Greg Henderson (31) claimed the men’s points race.


Team sprint    
1 Team Toshiba (Ryan Bayley, Daniel Ellis, Shane Kelly) 0:44.639  
2 RAD (Robert Forstemann, Matthias John, Stefan Nimke) 0:44.813  
3 Cofidis (Didier Henriette, Kevin Sireau, Arnaud Tournant) 0:44.746  
30km points race    
1 Greg Henderson (New Zealand) 31 pts
2 Toni Tauler Llull (Spain) 27  
3 Cameron Meyer (Australia) 24  
4km Individual Pursuit    
1 Volodymyr Dyudyav (Ukraine) 4:25.485  
2 Phillip Thuaux (Australia) 4:30.279  
3 Alexander Serov (Russia) 4:29.327  
Individual pursuit    
1 Katie Mactier (Australia) 3:38.379  
2 Vilija Sereikaite (South Africa) 3:40.393  
3 Karin Thurig (Switzerland) 3:40.300  
1 Willy Kanis (Netherlands)    
2 Anna Meares (Australia)    
3 Natallia Tsylinskaya (Belarus)    
1 Yumari Gonzalez Valdivieso (Cuba)    
2 Annalisa Cucinotta (Italy)    
3 Anastasiay Chulkova (Russia)    

© AFP 2007