Beltman wins Swedish World Cup

Dutchwoman best in Vårgårda on Sunday.


Dutchwoman Chantal Beltman (T-Mobile) won the Swedish round of the women’s world cup in Vårgårda on Sunday. Beltman attacked her breakaway companion Karin Thürig (Raleigh Lifeforce) on the final climb to finish over half a minute clear of the Swiss rider. Bigla’s Italian sprinter Noemi Cantele won the sprint for third, nearly three minutes behind.


“It was the perfect day for the team. Everything worked out today. I am so happy for Chantal,” said Beltman’s sports director Anna Wilson on the team’s website. “Chantal was in tears afterwards!

“I really didn’t expect top form from her today, as she has been doing a lot of travel recently and hadn’t raced in three weeks. But in the end it was the extra freshness that counted. The Thüringen Rundfahrt took a lot out of many riders, you could see Karin Thürig was looking a bit tired when she is normally so strong, but Chantal was fresh and she was able to take advantage of that to win for the team here.”

“A World Cup win was a long time coming, and we were very close on many occasions, but now we have one in the bag and we are all delighted,” finished Wilson.

The 132km race was animated by a four woman breakaway featuring Nikki Egyed (Raleigh Lifeforce), Trine Schmidt (Team Flexpoint) and Stephanie Pohl (Getränke Hoffmann). The quartet was only able to reach a maximum lead of 1’55 after 25km, and were eventually caught after 75km. A counter-attack went soon afterwards, with 15 riders making the cut, including Beltman, Thürig, Cantele, Judith Arndt (T-Mobile), Amber Neben (Team Flexpoint) and Priska Doppmann (Raleigh Lifeforce).

The big group didn’t hold together for long, as Beltman and Thürig attacked on the flat. They had teammates in the break who weren’t working, and were able to extend their advantage to 3’23 with around 30km to go. Several attempts were made to bridge the gap, with last year’s winner and local favourite Susanne Ljungskog trying more than once, but the leaders were untouchable.

On the final lap, Beltman proved to be too strong for Thürig on the climb, leaving her behind as she soloed to victory.

World cup leader Nicole Cooke (Raleigh Lifeforce) finished 12th and retained the leader’s jersey with a hefty 51 point lead over Marianne Vos. There are two more rounds of the women’s world cup left, with the next being the GP de Plouay in France on September 1st.


1 Chantal Beltman (Ned ¦ T-Mobile) 3:22:52
2 Karin Thürig (Swi ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce) 00:00:32
3 Noemi Cantele (Ita ¦ Bigla) 00:02:57
4 Andrea Bosman (Ned ¦ DSB Bank)
5 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned ¦ AA-Drink)
6 Sarah Düster (Ger ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce)
7 Eva Lutz (Ger ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)
8 Fabiana Luperini (Ita ¦ Menikini Selle Italia Gysko)
9 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita ¦ AA-Drink)
10 Marianne Vos (Ned ¦ DSB Bank)
11 Angela Brodtka (Ger ¦ Team Getränke-Hoffmann) 00:3:14
12 Nicole Cooke (GBr ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce)
13 Anita Valen-De Vries (Nor ¦ Norwegian National Team)
14 Trixi Worrack (Ger ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)
15 Judith Arndt (Ger ¦ T-Mobile)
16 Grete Treier (Est ¦ Estonian National Team)
17 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe ¦ Team Flexpoint)
18 Catherine Hare (GBr ¦ Rapha-Condor )
19 Andrea Graus (Aut ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)
20 Nikki Egyed (Aus ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce)
21 Edwige Pitel (Fra ¦ Team Uniqa)
22 Monica Holler (Swe ¦ Bigla) 00:5:47
23 Kirsten Wild (Ned ¦ AA-Drink)
24 Adrie Visser (Ned ¦ DSB Bank)
25 Yong Liu (Chn ¦ Giant Pro)
26 Karin Aune (Swe ¦ Menikini Selle Italia Gysko)
27 Emma Johansson (Swe ¦ Swedish National Team)
28 Emma Rickards (Aus ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce)
29 Jennifer Hohl (Swi ¦ Bigla)
30 Sara Mustonen (Swe ¦ Swedish National Team)
31 Priska Doppmann (Swi ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce)
32 Serena Danesi (Ita ¦ Top Girls-Fassa Bortolo-Raxy Line)
33 Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol ¦ Pol-Aqua)
34 Tina Leibig (Ger ¦ Team Getränke-Hoffmann)
35 Marije Profijt (Ned ¦ Therme Skin Care)
36 Tanja Hennes (Ger ¦ Bigla)
37 Lang Meng (Chn ¦ Giant)
38 Magdalena Zamolska (Pol ¦ Pol-Aqua)
39 Olivia Gollan (Aus ¦ Menikini Selle Italia Gysko)
40 Lidia Arcangeli (Ita ¦ Bigla)
41 Linda Villumsen-Serup (Den ¦ T-Mobile)
42 Kimberly Anderson (USA ¦ T-Mobile)
43 Sigrid Corneo (Ita ¦ Menikini Selle Italia Gysko)
44 Anke Wichmann (Ger ¦ T-Mobile)
45 Amber Neben (USA ¦ Team Flexpoint)
46 Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel (Ned ¦ Team Flexpoint)
47 Kristine Saastad (Nor ¦ Norwegian National Team) 00:06:59
48 Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux ¦ Team Uniqa) 00:08:48
49 Marie Lindberg (Swe ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)
50 Laura Lepasalu (Est ¦ Estonian National Team)
51 Julie O´Hagan (Irl ¦ Rapha-Condor )
52 Roxanne Knetemann (Ned ¦ AA-Drink)
53 Tone Temtemoen (Nor ¦ Norwegian National Team)
54 Catrine Josefsson (Swe ¦ Swedish National Team)
55 Monika Schachl (Aut ¦ Team Uniqa)
56 Nathalie Bates (Aus ¦ Team Getränke-Hoffmann)
57 Fei Wang (Chn ¦ Giant)
58 Virginia Hennig (Ger ¦ Team Getränke-Hoffmann)
59 Madelene Olsson (Swe ¦ Swedish National Team)
60 Min Gao (Chn ¦ Giant)
61 Noortje Tabak (Ned ¦ DSB Bank)
62 Sharon Van Essen (Ned ¦ DSB Bank)
63 Laura Pisaneschi (Ita ¦ Top Girls-Fassa Bortolo-Raxy Line)
64 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita ¦ Menikini Selle Italia Gysko)
65 Linn Torp (Nor ¦ Norwegian National Team) 00:12:15
66 Trine Schmidt (Den ¦ Team Flexpoint)
67 Rixt Meijer (Ned ¦ Therme Skin Care)

World Cup standings

1 Nicole Cooke (GBr ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce) 287 pts
2 Marianne Vos (Ned ¦ DSB Bank) 236
3 Oenone Wood (Aus ¦ T-Mobile) 109
4 Fabiana Luperini (Ita ¦ Menikini-Selle Italia-Gysko) 108
5 Karin Thürig (Swi ¦ Raleigh Lifeforce) 77
6 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung) 76
7 Judith Arndt (Ger ¦ T-Mobile) 76
8 Trixi Worrack (Ger ¦ Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung) 76
9 Chantal Beltman (Ned ¦ T-Mobile) 75
10 Adrie Visser (Ned ¦ DSB Bank) 75


© BikeRadar 2007