BMC UK Racing Team unveil 2009 lineup.

Strong focus on developing under-23 riders

The lineup of the BMC UK Racing Team for 2009 has been unveiled

The BMC UK Racing Team have unveiled their 2009 squad. The 12 riders will compete in the Premier Calendar, National Circuit Series and Tour Series.


Seven of the team members are under 23, and they have achieved strong results with their former clubs, notching up 11 victories and eight podium places in the 2008 season between them.

Team manager Alan Rosner said: “The BMC UK Racing Team has been formed to give our under-23 riders the freedom to race without having to work for designated team leaders and, therefore, to forgo any personal ambition they might have. I have seen many talented young riders get a few promising results and move too early to professional teams, only for them to be used as cannon fodder for the more experienced riders, never finishing races and being ground down before being discarded after a single season.”

The riders are:

  • Steven Charles
  • Ian Franklin (under-23)
  • Steven Griffiths (U-23)
  • James Jackson (U-23)
  • Daniel Kogan (U-23)
  • Andy Lyons
  • Adam Norris (U-23)
  • Nino Piccoli (U-23)
  • Dean Shannon
  • Joe Skipper (U-23)
  • Ben Thompson
  • James Whatling

Mr Rosner said: “The BMC UK Racing Team aims to give our young riders the chance to progress in an environment where they can race the major races, learn from the older riders and be given the time to develop physically and mentally before they might face the harsh realities of professional cycling. The BMC UK Racing Team is a team of friends, guys that live in close proximity to each other and train together regularly, and I believe this family feel can only bring out the best in the younger riders.”


The BMC UK Racing Team are supported by BMC, Spiuk, Mule Bar, Green Jersey Web Design, Redbridge Cycling Centre, Pro Vision Clothing, Continental Tyres, Powertap and Garmin.