Bourgain wins World Cup sprint

Report and results from the final day in Sydney


Mickael Bourgain led a French domination of the men’s sprint on the final night of the opening leg of track cycling’s World Cup in Sydney on Sunday. Bourgain beat off team-mate Kevin Sireau, winning both his races in the final.


Britain’s world keirin and time trial champion Chris Hoy prevented a French clean sweep of the medals, beating world team sprint champion Gregory Bauge for the bronze medal.

“I felt very very good and I am happy with the tournament,” Bourgain said. “My hardest match-up was against Greg Bauge, but that is how it goes. Today, I am happy, because both were strong rides.”

Russians Eugeniya Romanyuta, Olga Slyusareva and Anastasiay Chulkova beat host country Australia in the first ever team pursuit for women.

Britain’s world champion Victoria Pendleton won the keirin event ahead of American Jennie Reed and Natalia Tsylinskaya of Belarus.

The Dutch team of Peter Schep and Jens Mouris won the Madison over 40 kilometres from Spanish combination Joan Llaneras Rossello and Carlos Torrent Tarres, with Denmark’s Michael Morkov and Alex Rasmussen third.

The Netherlands were the champion nation at the Sydney World Cup leg, finishing with 78 points, ahead of Australia (68) and France (66).


1 Mickael Bourgain (France)    
2 Kevin Sireau (France)    
3 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)    
Madison (40km)    
1 Peter Schep/Jens Mouris (Netherlands)    
2 Joan Llaneras Rossello/Carlos Torrent Tarres (Spain) 10 pts
3 Michael Morkov/Alex Rasmussen (Denmark) 18  
Team pursuit (3000m)    
1 Russia (Eugeniya Romanyuta/Olga Slyusareva/Anastasiay Chulkova) 3:29.072  
2 Australia (Belinda Goss/Katie Mactier/Josephine Tomic) 3:30.675  
3 Ukraine (Svetlana Galuk/Lesya Kalitovska/Lyubov Shulika) 3:30.434  
1 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)    
2 Jennie Reed (USA)    
3 Natalia Tsylinskaya (Belarus)    

© AFP 2007