British Cyclo-cross Championships: Jody Crawforth crowned National Champion

Paul Oldham second, reigning champion Roger Hammond third

UK Cyclo-cross

Surrey cyclo-cross ace Jody Crawforth was crowned the National Champion in Yorkshire on Sunday after an impressive performance in the title race at Bradford.


The 28-year-old Arctic RT rider from Leatherhead won by just seven seconds from rival Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing), while reigning champion Roger Hammond (Cervelo Test Team) was third, just ten seconds behind Crawforth.

The times were tight on the line, but Crawforth’s victory was much more than a gallop for the line.

He had been near the head of the race virtually throughout, and after marshalling a few early attacks from rivals he hit the front and rode away from his rivals. They closed him down on the last couple of laps, but a final push up the hill as the headed for the finish gave him the crucial edge which he held in style.

Fourth in last year’s title race, Crawforth looked stronger and keener and was well satisfied with his victory over a strong field which included pro road rider Hammond.

“It was a difficult race because it was so windy,” he said afterwards. “The wind meant that nobody wanted to do a turn at the front, and being out there on my own everyone could see me and knew what they had to do.

“I had a bit of a go off the front for a couple of laps and although I got caught I was still fairly confident. On the last lap it was me, Paul and Roger, but then Oli Beckingsale came up to us and I thought he would attack straight away, but he didn’t.

“I was second going into the last uphill section, and I put the hammer down up there and was in front by the top. I had a small gap by the time I reached the steps, and I think Roger struggled with the re-mount, so I put the power down and went for it.”

Crawforth is second in the National Trophy Series and hopes to take the series to add to the title when the final round is run next Sunday.

“The title was a big target for me, but I want the series as well, although I will need a bit of luck to get that. If I win then Paul [Oldham] needs to finish third of worse, so really it’s down to how we perform as individuals.”

In other races, Helen Wyman (Vision One Racing) scored a comfortable victory in the women’s race on Sunday, beating team-mate Gabriella Day by 50 seconds, while Science in rival Suzanne Clarke was third.

Junior Ruby Miller (unattached) was a superb fourth, while the relatively unknown Lilly Matthews (100 Per Cent ME) was fifth.

Yortkshire-based SSC Cyclesport rider Tom Moses won the junior race by 25 seconds in the day’s other event.

Saturday’s racing saw Yorkshire rivals Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) and Paul Young (JD Cycles) do battle in the over-40s race, and Clough just held on for victory by 14 seconds over Young, while Endura-MI Racing rider Geoff Giddings was third.

Science in Sport-Trek rider David Fletcher was top under-23, beating the GB Academy’s Jonny McEvoy (100 Per Cent ME) by 46 seconds.


National Cyclo-Cross Championships (Peel Park, Bradford, West Yorkshire)
1 Jody Crawforth (Arctic RT) 1hr 02min 43sec
2 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) at 7sec
3 Roger Hammond (Cervelo Test Team) at 10sec
4 Oli Beckingsale (Giant) at 27sec
5 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase) at 1:05
6 Ian Bibby (Science in Sport) at 1:22
7 Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) at 1:35
8 Nick Craig (Scott UK) at 1:54
9 Lewis Craven (Wheelbase) at 2:28
10 Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman) at 2:45
1 Helen Wyman (Vision One Racing) 39:46
2 Gabriella Day (Vision One Racing) at 50sec
3 Suzanne Clarke (Science in at 2:25
4 Ruby Miller (unattached) at 2:44
5 Lilly Matthews (100 Per Cent ME) at 3:33
6 Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge CC) at 3:49
1 Tom Moses (SSC Cyclesport) 43:11
2 Dan Harrison (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) at 25sec
3 Dan McLay (Univega) at 46sec
4 David Nichols (Glendene CC) at 1:52
5 Oliver Webster (JD Cycles) at 2:57
6 Peter Dibben (Hargroves Cycles) at 3:24
1 David Fletcher (Science in Sport-Trek) 51:52
2 Jonny McEvoy (100 Per Cent ME) at 46sec
3 Stephen Adams (Plowman Craven-Madison) at 1:29
4 Mark Thwaites (Asfra Flanders RT) at 1:58
5 Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax) at 2:24
6 Anthony O’Boyle (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) at 2:57
Veterans (Over-40s)
1 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) 39:50
2 Chris Young (JD Cycles Ilkley) at 14sec
3 Geoff Giddings (Endura) at 27sec
4 Kenny Johnson (Science in at 46sec
5 John Shaw ( at 1:15
6 Duncan Walmsley ( at 1:32
Over-45s: Philip Roach (Rugby Velo).
Veterans (Over-50s)
1 Ian Wright (Wyre Forest CRC) 41:48
2 Andrew Roberts (Evans Cycles RT) at 1:25
3 Barry Kipling (MTS Cyclesport) at 1:46
4 Malcolm Cross (Hargroves Cycles) at 1:57
5 David Smith (Derby Mercury RC) at 2:14
6 Robert Wood-Anderson (unattached) at 2:17
Over-55s: David Smith (Derby Mercury RC).
Over-60s: Vic Barnett (Welland Valley Wheelers).
Over-65s: John Ginley (Condor RC).
Over-70s: John Dowell (Heanor Clarion CC).
1 Joshua Papworth (Wyre Forest CRC) 27:07
2 Sam Lowe (Go Sport Spex) at 2sec
3 Hugo Humphreys (Lee Valley YCC) at 4sec
4 Taylor Johnstone (Team de Ver) at 9sec
5 Luke Grivell-Mellor (Mid-Shropshire Wheelers) at 23sec
6 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) at 27sec
Under-15s: Sam Lowe
Under-14s: Joe Kirkham (VC Long Eaton)
Youth Girls:
1 Lucy Garner (Leicestershire RC) 31:13
2 Bethany Crumpton (Halesowen A&CC) at 18sec
3 Hannah Shenton (Team Chance) at 53sec
4 Hannah Payton (Stourbridge CC) at 1:20
5 Hannah Leyland (SportCity Velo) at 1:47
6 Amy Roberts (Lifeforce Cervelo) at 2:14
Under-14s: Zoe Armstrong (Ribble Valley CRC)

For more in-depth race reports and coverage see