British team announced for Mountain Bike World Champs

Steve Peat, Gee Atherton and Liam Killeen confirmed for Canberra

Gee Atherton at the 2008 World Champs, Italy

British Cycling have picked a team of 29 riders to ride at the 2009 UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships in Canberra, Australia in September.


Current world champion Gee Atherton will be out to retain his title in the downhill category after a disappointing start to the World Cup season.

One of the men to beat will be his own team-mate Steve Peat, who currently lies second in the World Cup rankings, just four points behind overall leader Sam Hill of Australia.

They will be joined on the British team by Marc Beaumont, Josh Bryceland, Brendan Fairclough, Fionn Griffiths and Tracy Moseley. Danny Hart, who is leading the Junior World Cup series, also makes it onto the squad, along with Junior European Downhill Champion Bernard Kerr and several other promising young riders.

Gee will also be competing in the four-cross, along with his brother Dan. They will be joined by Scott Beamont and Fionn Griffiths, who will also be competing in both disciplines.

Commonwealth gold medallist Liam Killeen heads up the senior cross-country category alongside Oli Beckingsale and Sue Clarke. Great Britain will be fielding a strong crop of youngsters at the event too, including Annie Last who has shown fantastic form recently, beating Olympic champion Sabine Spitz twice and finishing second overall in the Tour de l’Ain.

There are plenty of talented trials hopefuls on the squad too, including Andrei Burton, Ben Savage and Ben Slinger. Here’s the full line-up in all categories:



  • Gee Atherton
  • Marc Beaumont
  • Josh Bryceland
  • Brendan Fairclough
  • Fionn Griffiths
  • Tracy Moseley
  • Steve Peat


  • Gareth Brewin
  • Arran Gannicott
  • Danny Hart
  • Harry Heath
  • Bernard Kerr



  • Oli Beckingsale
  • Sue Clarke
  • Liam Killeen


  • David Fletcher
  • Annie Last
  • Lily Matthews
  • Scott Thwaites


  • Kenta Gallagher
  • Steve James



  • Dan Atherton
  • Gee Atherton
  • Scott Beaumont
  • Fionn Griffiths



  • Andrei Burton
  • Daniel Butler
  • Ben Savage
  • Ben Slinger


  • Joe Oakley
  • Sam Oliver