Brum TT for Tour of Britain

The organisers of the Tour of Britain, which starts in Glasgow on August 30, have announced that the

The organisers of the Tour of Britain, which starts in Glasgow on August 30, have announced that the



The organisers of the T-Mobile-sponsored Tour of Britain have revealed that the fifth stage of this year’s race will be a four-kilometre time trial in Birmingham city centre. Taking place on Saturday, September 3, this will be the first time that the relaunched Tour of Britain has featured a time trial, and among those set to take part is Quick Step’s world TT champion Michael Rogers.

“We are delighted that the Tour of Britain has selected Birmingham for the fifth stage of the tour. This city is an international city of sport and cycling is a welcome addition to the prestigious list of sports that have been showcased in Birmingham. I hope that local people will welcome the tour by lining the route to support the competitors taking part,” said Councillor John Alden, Cabinet Member for Leisure, Sport and Culture.

“I am really excited about riding for the first time in the Tour of Britain and especially looking forward to this year’s time trial stage. I really believe that we have great chance of going one further than last year and winning the tour,” said Rogers. “The inclusion of a time trial stage increases my chances of winning and I am looking forward to using this stage to help boost my chances of defending my world title in Spain later in September.”

After a successful revival of the UK’s only major professional road cycle race in 2004, an extra stage has been added to this year’s race taking it up to six stages. It begins in Glasgow, Scotland on Tuesday, August 30 and passes through three of England’s most picturesque regions – The North West, Yorkshire and the East Midlands, followed by city centric stages held in Birmingham and London where the climax will take place right in the heart of Westminster on Sunday, September 4.

The full stage list is now as follows:

Stage 1: Glasgow-Castle Douglas
Stage 2: Carlisle-Blackpool
Stage 3: Leeds-Sheffield
Stage 4: Buxton-Nottingham
Stage 5: Birmingham TT
Stage 6: Westminster Criterium


For further details on the race and associated events go to