Caisse d’Epargne, Lampre name Tour teams

Valverde, Pereiro and Cunego ready to race

Damiano Cunego is elated to be racing the Tour again.

Spain’s Alejandro Valverde, one of the favourites for next month’s Tour de France, has the distinction of a former champion helping him in his leader’s role at Caisse d’Epargne, compatriot Oscar Pereiro.


Pereiro came second behind Floyd Landis in 2006, but the American was later stripped of his title for taking steroids and, just on Monday, lost his appeal at the Lausanne-based Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Others riding for Caisse d’Epargne at the July 5 to 27 Grand Boucle include Spaniards Vicente Garcia Acosta and Ivan Gutierrez.

Team roster:

David Arroyo (Esp), Arnaud Coyot (Fra), Vicente Garcia Acosta (Esp), Ivan Gutierrez (Esp), David Lopez (Esp), Oscar Pereiro (Esp), Nicolas Portal (Fra), Luis Leon Sanchez (Esp), Alejandro Valverde (Esp)

Lampre Tour team announced

The Italian Lampre team, which will support 2004 Tour of Italy champion and team leader Damiano Cunego in the Tour beginning July 5, was announced on Monday.

Cunego can count on compatriots Marco Marzano and Paolo Tiralongo in the mountains and Matteo Bono, Massimiliano Mori and Daniele Righi on the flat stages. Cunego won best young rider in the 2006 Tour, his first and only crack at yellow.

Team roster:

Alessandro Ballan (Ita), Matteo Bono (Ita), Marzio Bruseghin (Ita), Damiano Cunego (Ita), Marco Marzano (Ita), Massimiliano Mori (Ita), Daniele Righi (Ita), Sylwester Szmyd (Pol), Paolo Tiralongo (Ita)


© BikeRadar & AFP 2008