Chris Hoy named BBC Sports Personality of the Year

British cyclists Team of the Year, Brailsford Coach of the Year

Hoy wins

Chris Hoy, who won three gold medals in the Beijing Olympics, has been voted Sports Personality of the Year in the BBC’s annual awards ceremony, as decided by a live phone vote.


Hoy is the first cyclist to win the accolade since Tom Simpson in 1965. Formula 1 racing driver Lewis Hamilton came second, and swimmer Rebecca Adlington finished third.

On receiving the award, Hoy said: “To win this award this year is so special as British sport has enjoyed such a hugely successful year. It’s been incredible.”

Other cyclists nominated for the award were Nicole Cooke, Rebecca Romero and Bradley Wiggins.


Britain’s Olympic cycling team, who won a total of 14 medals in Beijing, won Team of the Year and British cycling coach Dave Brailsford was named Coach of the Year.