Commerce Bank Philadelphia International Championship: Haedo the spoiler!

Team CSC's JJ Haedo and Matt Goss deflated T-Mobile's Bernhard Eisel at the Philadelphia Internation


Team CSC’s JJ Haedo and Matt Goss deflated T-Mobile’s Bernhard Eisel at the Philadelphia Internation

PIC: JJ Haedo Team CSC (Tim DeWaele) Argentinean sprinter Juan Jos Haedo (Team CSC) took his sixth victory of the season, crossing the finish line in the 156-mile Philadelphia International Championship, the final race of the Commerce Bank Triple Crown. Haedo set an unofficial record of 5:45:51, seven minutes better than the previous fastest of 2000, for an average speed of 27.06 mph. Haedo’s Team CSC teammate Matthew Goss took second place ahead of T-Mobile’s Bernhard Eisel, who won the Lancaster and Reading races June 3 and 7, respectively. Eisel’s third-place finish earned him the Triple Crown overall prize. “It was a perfect day for us – we were part of all the breaks and what a payoff!” Team CSC director Scott Sunderland said after the race. The pink T-Mobile train did everything in its power to tow Eisel to victory, but a late crash about 800 meters to the line changed the outcome, as several riders touched wheels and were sent to the tarmac in a split second of nerves. Haedo and Goss seemed to appear out of nowhere, escaping harm and claiming the top two places in front of a charging Eisel and the lucky 12 who avoided the crash behind. “JJ has been having a bit of a tough time lately,” Sunderland explained. “He was a bit disappointed about his performance in the recent Giro d’Italia and hasn’t regained his strength in the first couple of races over here. But I said to him to try and make a couple of the early breaks and then see what happened. Later on he was told to get ready for the sprint, while almost everybody was up to something. The team work today was superb.” Philadelphia International Championship (156 miles) Results 1 Juan Jose Haedo (Arg, Team CSC) 5:45:51 2 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus, Team CSC) 3 Bernhard Eisel (Aut, T-Mobile) 4 Alejandro Alberto Borrajo (Arg, Rite Aid) 5 Dominique Rollin (Can, Kodak Gallery p/b Sierra Nevada) 6 Mark Cavendish (Gbr, T-Mobile) 7 Charles Dionne (Can, Colavita-Sutter Home) 8 Ricardo Escuela (Arg, 9 Alex Candelario (USA, Jelly Belly) 10 Frank Pipp (USA, Health Net – Maxxis) 11 Emile Abraham (Tri, Priority Health p/b Bissel) 12 Sebastian Haedo (Arg, Rock Racing) 13 Henk Vogels (Aus, Toyota-United) 14 Greg Henderson (Nzl, T-Mobile) 15 Sergey Lagutin (Uzb, Navigators Insurance) 16 Svein Tuft (Can, Symmetrics Cycling Team) 17 Jacob Erker (Can, Symmetrics Cycling Team) 18 Benjamin Brooks (USA, Navigators Insurance) 19 Valery Kobzarenko (Ukr, Navigators Insurance) 20 John-Freddy Parra (Col, Tecos De La Universidad) 21 Alejandro-Ivan Cortes (Col, Caico) 22 Andrew Randell (Can, Symmetrics Cycling Team) 23 Andrew Bajadali (USA, Jelly Belly) 24 Rory Sutherland (Aus, Health Net – Maxxis) 25 David Vitoria (Swi, BMC Racing Team) 26 Ben Day (Aus, Navigators Insurance) 27 Christopher Jones (USA, Nerac) 28 Trent Wilson (Aus, Jittery Joe’s) 29 Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (USA, Priority Health p/b Bissel) 30 Jorge Martinez (Col, Caico)