CSC-Saxo Bank announces Tour de France roster

Sastre and Schleck brothers in for yellow bid

Stuart O'Grady, Fabian Cancellara and the Schleck brothers will all form part of CSC-Saxo Bank's Tour de France team

Spaniard Carlos Sastre and Luxembourg brothers Andy and Franck Schleck will spearhead the CSC team’s bid for the Tour de France yellow jersey from 5-27 July.


CSC’s general manager Bjarne Riis, the 1996 winner of the race, has put together a strong team which includes Swiss maestro Fabian Cancellara and has been strengthened by the inclusion of Australian Stuart O’Grady.

“Once again we have extremely big ambitions for the race. With Sastre, and the Schleck brothers we have some of the best climbers on the race,” Riis said in a team statement.

Cancellara is one of the strongest riders in the peloton, having won a number of big classics such as Paris-Roubaix and the Milan-SanRemo and is a former stage winner and yellow jersey wearer.

CSC will sponsor the team until the end of this year, after which the Danish outfit will wear the shirts of their new sponsor Saxo Bank.

Team roster

Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Nor), Fabian Cancellara (Swi), Volodymyr Gustov (Ukr), Stuart O’Grady (Aus), Carlos Sastre (Spa), Andy Schleck (Lux), Frank Schleck (Lux), Nicki Sorensen (Den), Jens Voigt (Ger)


© AFP 2008