Denis Menchov spearheads Rabobank’s Tour challenge

Oscar Freire and Robert Gesink also in squad

Oscar Freire, Robert Gesink and Denis Menchov will be part of Rabobank's Tour de France team this year

Russian rider Denis Menchov, competing in his tenth Tour de France, will spearhead his Rabobank team’s challenge in this year’s race which gets underway in Rotterdam on July 3.


The 2009 Tour of Italy winner will be joined by Dutch climber Robert Gesink, who crashed out in the fifth stage of last year’s race, and former world champion Spaniard Oscar Freire, winner of the Milan-Sanremo in March.

Dutch rider Lars Boom, a former world cyclo-cross champion who won the Paris-Nice time-trial in March, and compatriot Maarten Tjallingii, are the two newcomers to the team in this year’s race.

Rabobank Tour de France team

Lars Boom (Ned), Laurens Ten Dam (Ned), Oscar Freire (Spa), Juan Manuel Garate (Esp), Robert Gesink (Ned), Denis Menchov (Rus), Koos Moerenhout (Ned),  Grischa Niermann (Ger), Maarten Tjallingii (Ned)

Substitutes: Pieter Weening (Ned), Bram Tankink (Ned).


© AFP 2010…