Discovery’s Martinez goes it alone

Discovery Channel's Egoi Martinez takes victory on Wednesday's 11th stage of the Vuelta, with race l

Discovery Channel’s Egoi Martinez takes victory on Wednesday’s 11th stage of the Vuelta, with race l



Egoi Martinez of Discovery Channel won Wednesday’s 174km 11th stage of the Vuelta between the velodrome named after Spanish cycling hero Oscar Freire – absent from this year’s race – in Torrelavega and Burgos. But it was another quiet day for the favourites, with Alejandro Valverde (Illes Balears) holding on to his gold leader’s jersey, with the main peloton finishing more than 15 minutes down.

Martinez had been part of a 13-man breakaway which got away 30km in to the day’s stage, which also included former Euskaltel team-mate Inigo Landaluze, Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole), Australia’s Scott Davis (T-Mobile) and CSC’s Volodymir Gustov.

However, Martinez was unhappy with the group’s co-operation, and headed off alone with just under 100km left to race, building a lead of nearly three minutes. He was later joined by Gustov and Landaluze, but, after initially choosing not to work with the duo, Martinez attacked again with 10km to go, and this time stayed away alone to win by 55 seconds.

The Spaniard was quick to thank his Discovery team for their encouragement to take out the day’s stage. “The team gave me the motivation necessary to centre myself on giving my all,” Martinez said. “I received instructions from the team car to give it all I had and, the truth is, it was necessary, because the last three kilometres included a slight climb and I felt dead. However, it was worth it in the end. I think that my team managers were a great help today.”

Stage 11: Torrelavega (Velodrome Oscar Freire) – Burgos

1 Egoi Martinez (Spa) Discovery Channel 174km in 4.20.32
2 Inigo Landaluze (Spa) Euskaltel 0.55
3 Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) CSC
4 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole 3.35
5 Alexandre Usov (Blr) Ag2r
6 David Loosli (Swi) Lampre
7 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner
8 Theo Eltink (Hol) Rabobank
9 Scott Davis (Aus) T-Mobile
10 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Illes Balears 3.37


Overall 1 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Illes Balears 45.54.45
2 Andrei Kashechkin (Kaz) Astana 0.27
3 Carlos Sastre (Spa) CSC 0.44
4 Jos Angel Gomez Marchante (Spa) Saunier Duval 0.56
5 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Astana 1.38
6 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Discovery Channel 2.05
7 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas 2.21
8 Manuel Beltran (Spa) Discovery Channel 2.28
9 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Illes Balears 3.02
10 Sergio Paulinho (Por) Astana 3.42