Donny Robinson new BMX world champion

Americans take two top podium spots

The United States collected three medals in the elite events at the 2009 UCI BMX World Championships in Adelaide, Australia on Saturday, with Beijing Olympic bronze medalist Donny Robinson riding to a world title in the elite men’s event.


After going one and two in their semifinal round, Robinson and teammate Mike Day repeated in the final to score the gold and silver medals ahead of bronze medalist Ramiro Marino of Argentina. Fellow American Nicholas Long was fifth in the elite men’s contest.

In the elite women’s main, Arielle Martin put forth the bronze medal effort for the USA, while New Zealand’s Sarah Walker became the new world champion and Frenchwoman Eva Ailloud rode to the silver.

Sarah walker of new zealand (c) leads a pack of riders during the uci bmx world championships at the adelaide show ground on july 25, 2009 in adelaide, australia.:
Brendon Thorne/Getty Images

Sarah Walker (C) takes flight en route to her rainbow jersey

2009 UCI BMX World Championships – Adelaide, Australia

July 23-26, 2009

Elite Men

1. Donny Robinson (USA)

2. Mike Day (USA)

3. Ramiro Marino (ARG)

4. Maris Strombergs (LAT)

5. Nicholas Long (USA)

Elite Women

1. Sarah Walker (NZL)

2. Eva Ailloud (FRA)

3. Arielle Martin (USA)

4. Jana Horakova (CZE)       

5. Samantha Cools (CAN)

Junior Elite Men

1. Sam Willougby (AUS)

2. Andre Fossa Aquiliz (NOR)

3. Anthony Dean (AUS)

5. Corben Sharrah (USA)

6. Riley Stair (USA)

Junior Elite Women

1. Mariana Pajon (COL)

2. Merle Van Benthem (NED)

3. Maartje Hereijgers (NED)

5. Dominique Daniels (USA)


7. Alise Post (USA)