Double for Liberty in Murcia

Allan Davis wins his second stage at the Tour of Murcia as his Liberty Seguros team-mate Koldo Gil w

DAVIS Allan ( AUS ) / BARANOWSKI Dariusz ( POL ) / GONZALEZ GALDEANO Igor ( ESP ) / HRUSKA Jan ( CZE ) / SERRANO Marcos ( ESP ) / VANDEVELDE Christian ( USA ) / VICIOSO Angel ( ESP )
Allan Davis wins his second stage at the Tour of Murcia as his Liberty Seguros team-mate Koldo Gil w

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Liberty Seguros completed a successful five days at the Tour of Murcia when Allan Davis won the final stage of the race and team-mate Koldo Gil took the overall prize. Davis beat Danilo Hondo, winner of the first two stages, for the second time in three days, after his Liberty team had ensured that Gil’s hard-earned second place in Saturday’s key mountain stage to the Collado Bermejo won him the overall title. Gil went away on the final climb of Saturday’s key stage with Barloworld’s Pedro Arreitunandia and Lampre-Caffita’s Damiano Cunego, who had stated his desire to win the stage to pay his tribute to Marco Pantani, a previous winner on this mountain. Cunego, though, was dropped in the later stages of the final climb by the two Spaniards when his chain dropped and the Italian finished a disappointed third. The stage was won by Arreitunandia, with Gil doing more than enough to move into a clear lead. By finishing in the pack behind team-mate Davis on the final stage Gil clinched what he admitted was the best victory of his career so far. “I am sad because until my chain came off everything was going just as planned,” said Cunego. “I think that I lost about half a minute in fixing in the problem and although I responded well it was too much in the end. I wanted to win this summit finish because it bears the name of the unfortunate Marco Pantani, and also the race was up for grabs. The positive side of it is that I climbed well in spite of the lack of competition I have had.” Stage 4, Aguilas-Collado Bermejo 1 Pedro Arreitunandia (Spa) Barloworld-Valsir 152km in 4.14.59 (35.84kph) 2 Koldo Gil (Spa) Liberty Seguros 3 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 0.40 4 Pieter Weening (Hol) Rabobank 1.08 5 Antonio Colom (Spa) Illes Balears 1.10 6 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Kaiku 7 David Ca¤ada (Spa) Saunier Duval 1.43 8 Theo Eltink (Hol) Rabobank 1.45 9 Ricardo Serrano (Spa) Kaiku 2.01 10 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom Stage 5, Murcia-Murcia 1 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros-Wurth 151km in 3.24.28 (44.31kph) 2 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3 Wesley van der Linden (Hol) Chocolade Jacques 4 Crescenzo d’Amore (Ita) Acqua e Sapone 5 Jukka Vastaranta (Fin) Rabobank 6 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 7 Javier Benitez (Spa) Relax-Fuenlabrada 8 Ricardo Serrano (Spa) Kaiku 9 Stefan van Dijck (Hol) 10 Eric Baumann (Ger) T-Mobile Final overall 1 Koldo Gil (Spa) Liberty Seguros-Wurth 15.53.08 2 Toni Colom (Spa) Illes Balears 0.30 3 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 0.59 4 Pedro Arreitunandia (Spa) Barloworld 1.09 5 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Kaiku 1.35 6 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner 1.47 7 Jos Luis Martinez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 1.54 8 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 2.11 9 Pieter Weening (Hol) Rabobank 2.16 10 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Rabobank 2.27 30 Ben Day (Aus) 6.21 33 Steve Cummings (GB) Landbouwkrediet 7.11 47 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros 10.15 49 Jukka Vastaranta (Fin) Rabobank 10.56 – With bad weather causing the cancellation of the Three Days of West Flanders in Belgium, the only other main racing action this weekend took place in Italy where the oldest one-day race on the calendar, Milan-Turin, enjoyed a new spring slot rather than an autumn one. As has tended to be the case so often in the past, the decisive move came on the Superga climb above Turi, and Fassa Bortolo’s Fabio Sacchi proved quickest of the 10 riders who got away there. CSC’s Ivan Basso finished 19th on his 2005 debut. 1 Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 199km in 4.47.41 (41.50kph) 2 Mirko Celestino (Ita) Domina Vacanze 3 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Panaria 4 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Panaria 5 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.01 6 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0.03 7 Andrea Noe (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.04 8 Roberto Petito (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0.07 9 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Panaria 0.15 10 Przemyslaw Niemec (Pol) Miche 0.16 12 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Cofidis 19 Ivan Basso (Ita) CSC 0.47