Double success for Gerolsteiner

A great day for Gerolsteiner as Heinrich Haussler takes a well-crafted win at the Vuelta on his majo


A great day for Gerolsteiner as Heinrich Haussler takes a well-crafted win at the Vuelta on his majo



There was success for the German Gerolsteiner team on both sides of Europe today as 21-year-old Heinrich Haussler won the 19th stage of the Vuelta and 25-year-old Fabian Wegmann won the fifth stage of the Tour of Poland. There was no change in the leadership of either race, with Roberto Heras retaining the Vuelta’s gold jersey going into Saturday’s long time trial, and Luca Paolini holding the lead in Poland.

Haussler, who has an Australian mother and lived down under until he was 14, was one of 23 riders who went away from the main pack in the very first kilometres of the stage in the outskirts of Madrid. After numerous attacks and counter-attacks, four riders managed to get clear going into the final few kilometres. Riding in just his first major tour in his first full pro season, Haussler was probably the least fancied of the quartet as he squared up to Phonak’s Martin Elmiger, Lampre’s Juanma Fuentes and Comunitat Valenciana’s David Latasa.

Fuentes was the first to attack, underlining that he, as a climber, was the least confident in a sprint. Elmiger was the more likely winner, and the Swiss attacked 400 metres out. Haussler was quickly on his wheel and zipped by with ease for a well-taken victory.

Following the stage, the race organisers announced that Saunier Duval’s David Ca¤ada had been taken to hospital as the result of a cardiac arrhythmia that required medical attention during the race. No further details have yet been released on the rider’s condition.

In Poland, meanwhile, the first mountain stage also went Gerolsteiner’s way as the in-form Wegmann beat Quick Step’s Filippo Pozzato and ProTour leader Danilo Di Luca in the rain at Szklarska Poreba. Wegmann led out the sprint 500 metres out on the final 3km climb and no one could get on terms with him.

Stage 19, San Martin de Valdeiglesias-Alcobendas

1 Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Gerolsteiner 143km in 3.20.26 (42.78kph)
2 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak
3 David Latasa (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana
4 Juan Manuel Fuentes (Spa) Lampre-Caffita 0.10
5 Constantino Zaballa (Spa) Saunier Duval 0.30
6 Pablo Lastras (Spa) Illes Balears 0.43
7 Jos Miguel Elias (Spa) Relax 0.45
8 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) CSC 0.50
9 Roberto Laiseka (Spa) Euskaltel 0.54
10 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 2.16


1 Roberto Heras (Spa) Liberty Seguros-Wrth 78.06.39
2 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 4.30
3 Carlos Sastre (Spa) CSC 4.50
4 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Illes Balears 5.48
5 Carlos Garcia Quesada (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 6.22
6 Oscar Sevilla (Spa) T-Mobile 11.13
7 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 11.36
8 Juan Miguel Mercado (Spa) Quick Step 15.28
9 Tom Danielson (USA) Discovery Channel 15.50
10 Mauricio Ardila (Col) Davitamon-Lotto 15.53

Poland stage 5, Wroclaw-Szklarska Poreba

1 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner 200km in 5.28.01
2 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Quick Step
3 Uros Murn (Slo) Phonak
4 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.02
5 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo
6 Michael Boogerd (Hol) Rabobank
7 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank
8 Gorazd Stangelj (Slo) Lampre-Caffita 0.06
9 Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) Intel
10 Bobby Julich (USA) CSC
11 Baden Cooke (Aus) Franaise des Jeux



1 Luca Paolini (Ita) Quick Step-Innergetic 25.44.44
2 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner 0.08
3 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Quick Step 0.12
4 Baden Cooke (Aus) Franaise des Jeux 0.14
5 Uros Murn (Slo) Phonak
6 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.20
7 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo
8 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank
9 Michael Boogerd (Hol) Rabobank
10 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Intel 0.23