European national road championships round-up

Who won what in which country

The past week saw most European and some American countries hold their national road and time trial championships.


In Austria, Marcus Eibegger and Christiane Soeder claimed the men’s and women’s road race titles. Eibegger won a two man sprint against his Elk Haus teammate Martin Schöffmann while Soeder broke away with 50km to go in the 108km race and won by over 11 minutes.

In Belgium, Tom Boonen (Quick.Step) won his first Belgian elite road title after beating Philippe Gilbert (Silence Lotto) in a bunch sprint. The women’s race was held at the end of May, where Ludovine Henrion (Red Sun Cycling Team) won her championship.

The British titles in Abergavenny saw domestic pro Kristian House (Rapha Condor) beat Daniel Lloyd (Cervelo TestTeam), Peter Kennaugh (100% ME) and Chris Froome (Barloworld) in a four man breakaway, meaning the more fancied riders Roger Hammond (Cervelo) and Mark Cavendish (Columbia-Highroad) had to settle for fifth and sixth.

Olympic and world champion Nicole Cooke (Vision 1) won her 10th British road title after 110km of tough racing, beating U23 Lizzie Armitstead (Lotto-Belisol) and Emma Pooley (Cervelo) in a three-woman sprint. Armitstead was awarded the gold medal for being best U23 rider as well as the silver for her place in the elite race. The latter was subject to some controversy as initially Armitstead was denied the silver, but British Cycling reinstated it on Monday.

The Canadian men’s road championship went to Aaron Fillion while Svein Tuft won the time trial. Alison Testroete and Tara Whitten won the women’s road and time trial championships, respectively.

Denmark’s nationals in Sønderborg saw Matti Breschel (Saxo Bank) take the men’s road title, with his teammate Lars Bak winning the time trial. Linda Villumsen (Columbia-Highroad) won both the women’s road race and time trial.

The Dutch men’s championships saw Rabobank’s Koos Moerenhout win a seven man sprint in the road race, while multiple world champion Marianne Vos  soloed to victory in the women’s.

The French titles in Saint-Brieuc saw Dimitri Champion, who rides for the small continental team Bretagne-Schuller, win the road race. He beat Française des Jeux pair Anthony Geslin and Anthony Roux. There was another upset in the men’s time trial where mountain biker Jean-Christophe Peraud beat Quick.Step’s Sylvain Chavanel, himself a multiple national champion.

In the women’s events, 50 year-old Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli claimed her 56th national championship in the time trial, while Christel Ferier-Bruneau (Beziers-Mediterranee / Vision 1 Racing) won the road race.

French road champion dmitri champion is flanked by anthony geslin (l, 2nd) and anthony roux (r, 3rd) on the podium: french road champion dmitri champion is flanked by anthony geslin (l, 2nd) and anthony roux (r, 3rd) on the podium
AFP/Getty Images

The French men’s road race podium: Anthony Geslin (2nd), Dmitri Champion (1st) and Anthony Roux (3rd)

The German championships saw Martin Reimer (Cervelo) win the men’s road race while world champion Bert Grabsch (Columbia-Highroad) won the time trial. Columbia-Highroad had more success as Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won the women’s road race. Finally, Trixi Worrack (Nürnberger) won the women’s TT.

In Ireland, Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) won the men’s road race ahead of An Post M. Donnelly Grant Thornton Sean Kelly pair David O’Loughlin and Paídi O’Brien. Heather Wilson won the women’s race, beating Olivia Dillon and Mary Costello.

The Italian titles in Imola saw Marco Pinotti (Columbia-Highroad) and Noemi Cantele (Bigla Cycling Team) win the time trials last week. The men’s road race was a star studded affair, with Filippo Pozzato (Team Katusha) beating Damiano Cunego (Lampre-N.G.C) and Luca Paolini (Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo) at the end of 260km. Monia Baccaille (G.S. Fiamme Azzurre) took the women’s title ahead of Laura Bozzolo (Selle Italia Ghezzi A.S.D.) and Giorgia Bronzini (Gruppo Sportivo Forestale).

In Luxembourg, Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank) showed he is on form for the Tour de France by winning the men’s road race. Kim Kirchen (Columbia-Highroad) won the time trial. Nathalie Lamborelle and Christine Majerus won the women’s road race and time trial.

In Norway, Kurt Asle Arvesen (Saxo Bank) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia Highroad) won the men’s road and time trial titles, while Linn Torp (Eidsvoll SK) and Gunn Hilleren (Torshov Sykkelkl) claimed the respective women’s road and time trials.

Spain’s championships saw Rubén Plaza (Liberty Seguros) win the men’s road championship, with the fancied Alejandro Valverde only managing fourth. Alberto Contador confirmed his status as a Tour de France favourite to win the time trial, beating      Luis León Sánchez (Caisse d’Epargne) by 37 seconds.  The women’s titles saw Marta Vilajosana Andreu win the road race and      Débora Gálvez López take the time trial.

In Sweden, it was Saxo Bank’s Marcus Ljungqvist claiming the men’s road race with Alexander Wetterhall (Team Magnus Maximus winning the TT. Jennie Stenerhag beat Karin Aune in a two-up sprint to win the women’s road race, while Emilia Fahlin (Columbia-Highroad) took a narrow 9-second win over ex-world champion Susanne Ljungskog in the time trial.

In Switzerland Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) didn’t contest his speciality, the time trial, but did manage to win the men’s road race. The TT went to Rubens Bertogliati (Diquigiovanni) instead. Jennifer Hohl (Bigla Cycling Team) beat teammate Bettina Kuhn to win the women’s road race with another Bigla rider, Karin Thürig, winning the time trial.


For a complete breakdown of the 2009 road nationals, visit