Fallen cyclists memorial ride in Twin Cities October 4

Four cyclists remembered in Minnesota

Ghost bike memorials have been set up around the Twin Cities this month.

On October 4, the Minneapolis/St. Paul bicycle community will come together to honour the memory of cyclists who have been killed in recent accidents on Twin Cities streets. A memorial ride will visit the sites of three of the most recent crashes, where “Ghost Bikes” have been placed as a memorial to the victims.


Family, friends and cyclists are invited to participate in this group ride. Organizers are asking that participating cyclists please wear a black shirt with orange ribbon around their arm or handlebars. Ribbon will be provided for those who need it.

The ride will begin at Summit and Snelling Avenues near the ghost bike memorial for Virginia Heuer Bower. It will then head west down Lake Street to Excelsior and West 32nd Street, the ghost bike memorial for Jimmy Nisser. The ride will then head back up Excelsior/Lake, then northeast on Hennepin to the ghost bike memorial for Nik Morton.

In the afternoon, another ride will head to Blaine in order to place a Ghost Bike at Central and Cloverleaf, where cyclist Dale Aanenson was killed.

Riders are expected to be orderly and respectful of traffic. If you are riding recklessly, you will be asked to leave.

There is an unrelated “group photo” event at 3 pm at Gold Medal Park (the red square on the bikemap) and participants are welcome to continue on to be part of the “Unite Bike” group photograph.

What: Memorial Ride to Honor Fallen Bicyclists

13.6 miles for Twin Cities route

14.3 miles extra for Blaine route

Where: Meet on the traffic island at Summit and Snelling Avenues in St.Paul

When: This Saturday, October 4th, 2008. The ride will meet at 10:30 am; depart 11:00 am Contact: ghostbikempls@gmail.com or 612-276-1008

More discussion on the memorial ride can be found on the community message board Minneapolis Bike Love

Information about the victims of these tragedies can be found here:

Dale Phillip Aanenson

Virginia M. Heuer

Nik Morton


Jimmy Nisser