Final three Americans named to Olympic team

Neben, Thornburn and McConneloug going to Beijing

American mountain biker Mary McConneloug was named to the Olympic team.

USA Cycling announced its three remaining nominees to the 2008 U.S. Olympic Team. After naming 21 of the 24 cyclists that will compete in Beijing on July 1, USA Cycling today confirmed road cyclists Amber Neben and Christine Thorburn, with mountain biker Mary McConneloug, to represent the United States in China next month.


All three athletes earned discretionary selections and were nominated to the Olympic Team by a nine-person selection committee according to USA Cycling’s Principles of Discretion.

Also confirmed on Thursday was a discretionary nomination for Sarah Hammer to compete in the women’s points race. On July 1, Hammer was announced as an automatic qualifier for the individual pursuit.


All nominations are subject to the approval of the United States Olympic Committee.