First pics released of jumps at Big in Bavaria dirt jump comp

Mindless sickness expected at German jump fest

Organisers of the Big in Bavaria dirt jump competition that takes place in Munich, Germany on 23-26 July have released photos of the massive jumps that await the riders.


Reminiscent of the course at BikeRadar Live at Donington Park earlier this year, the huge eight metre starting ramp will launch the riders into a step down followed by a double with an 11 metre gap. The run features two parallel dirt lines, which will enable the riders to take challenging transfers. It’s got crowd-pleaser written all over it.  

About 1,200 tons of dirt have been used to form the super sized jumps so far, with 800 tons still to arrive.

Riders will have over 200 yards to pull off their best moves for a chance to win a share of an overall prize money fund of €20,000. Big in Bavaria organisers say that “mental fitness has to meet mindless sickness to throw down the hardest tricks on that huge dirt line.”

The unsculpted jumps: the unsculpted jumps

The dirt where mindless sickness will be on parade.

Big name riders already confirmed are:

Mountain bike

  • Darren Pokoj (AUS/Felt)   
  • Darren Berrecloth (CAN/Specialized)   
  • Mischa Breitenstein (CH/KONA)   
  • Andreu Lacondeguy (ESP/Kona)   
  • Lluis Lacondeguy (ESP/Kona)   
  • Pierre Edouard Ferry (FRA/Specialized)  
  • Grant Fielder (GBR/Kona)   
  • Sam Pilgrim (GBR/Diamondback)   
  • Amir Kabbani (GER/Cannondale)   
  • Andi Wittmann (GER/Giant)   
  • Benny Korthaus (GER/Specialized)   
  • Marius Hoppensack (GER/Scott)   
  • Trond Hansen (NOR/Specialized)   
  • Martin Söderström (SWE/NS Bikes)   
  • Andrew Taylor (USA/Marin)   
  • Cameron Zink (USA/Felt)   
  • Greg Watts (USA/Gary Fisher)   
  • Jamie Goldman (USA/Santa Cruz)   
  • Paul Basagoitia (USA/Kona)  


  • Cameron White (AUS/Mongoose) 
  • Corey Bohan (AUS/Giant) 
  • Dave Dillewaard (AUS/GT) 
  • Josh Stead (AUS) 
  • Luke Parslow (AUS/Forgotten Bikes) 
  • Ryan Guettler (AUS/MirraCo) 
  • Alejandro Caro (COL/wethepeople) 
  • Cristian Porras (COL) 
  • Alex Dropsi (FRA/Twenty) 
  • Nicolas Bertier (FRA/Dragonfly) 
  • Patrick Guimez (FRA/Koxx) 
  • Romuald Noirot (FRA/MacNeil) 
  • Ben Hennon (GBR/Seventies) 
  • Kye Forte (GBR/United Bikes) 
  • Markus Hampl GER/Twenty) 
  • Simon Moratz (GER/Felt) 
  • Anthony Napolitan (USA/Hoffman Bikes) 
  • Chris Doyle (USA/Kink Bikes) 
  • Heath Pinter (USA/Giant) 
  • James Foster (USA/KHE) 
  • Mike Clark (USA/Redline) 
  • Ricardo Laguna (USA) 
  • TJ Ellis (USA/Bulldog Bikes)

For more information, visit