FixedGearFever track series a success

American track racing series gains momentum

The inaugural FixedGearFever National Track Racing presented by Zipp Speed Weaponry began with the star-studded field of international riders of the Keirin Cup at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center in June and concluded four months later with a finale at the US Elite Nationals in Carson, CA.


Velodromes in Georgia, Illinois, Michigan, Colorado, Washington and Oregon hosted racing events in the series and provided a showcase of the fastest track riders in the country.

The series was organized by FixedGearFever and designed to showcase track racing across the country while providing a tangible ranking system of track cyclists, much like the National Racing Calendar (NRC) does for road cycling. In addition to the races in the series, each USA Cycling National Championship Qualifier provided riders with opportunities to earn points in the competition.

Prizes were awarded to the best Male and Female competitor in endurance and sprint competitions. Special jerseys were also awarded in the following categories:

* Unluckiest Rider
* Future Star
* Most Exciting to Watch
* Most Tracks Raced
* Most Laps Raced
* Most Miles Traveled

From the beginning, Andy Ording, President of Zipp Speed Weaponry, wanted to reward those supporting track racing: “The talent will rise to the top, but there are a lot of challenges being overcome to compete at the top level. These riders should be recognized as well.”

When the series came to its conclusion at the USA Cycling Elite National Track Championship, nearly 350 men and women had earned points in the endurance competition and just under 300 in the sprint competition while countless other riders competed in the newly created series

Track organizers, team director and track racers across the country regard this series as a huge success.

“What FixedGearFever has done will help track racing to become more professional in the US,” said Gary Ryan, Director of the Verducci/Breakaway Racing Team. “We now have a series that we can show current and potential sponsors. This is no different then the NRC road season, it’s a key building block in the future of US track racing.”


Men’s Sprint
Steve Hill (East Point Track Club)
Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joes Cycling Team)

Women’s Sprint
Jennie Reed (Momentum Cycling)

Men’s Endurance
Colby Pearce (Cody Professional Track Team)

Women’s Endurance
Becky Quinn (South Bay Wheelmen)

Unluckiest Riders:
Liz Reap
Brian Crosby

Future Star Award:
Cristin Walker
Taylor Phinney

Most Exciting to Watch:
Shelley Olds
Austin Carroll

Most Tracks Raced:
Cari Higgins
Jon Fraley

Most Laps Raced:
Jennie Reed
Kenny Williams

Most Miles Traveled:
Cari Higgins
Andrew Armstrong


© BikeRadar 2007