Friedl and Pendrell victorious in Poland

First Jelenia Gora Trophy a great success

Czech rider Jiri Friedl and Canadian Catherine Pendrel topped the podiums at the first Jelenia Gora Trophy, a UCI class two cross-country race in Poland organised by Olympic silver medallist Maja Wloszczowska.


Other cycling stars in attendance included US national champion Mary McConnelough and former Olympic champion Miguel Martinez, as well as the cream of Polish, Czech and Russian riders.

The elite men’s race was dominated by Czechs Jiri Friedl and Filip Eberl, who started strongly and lost Martinez on the climbs. Friedl took first prize and a 1,000 euro cheque, while Eberl took second and Martinez third, with Adrian Brzozka in fourth spot as the best Polish rider.

In the women’s race, it was UCI number one Pendrell who quickly asserted her authority. Flying along the technical course at Paulinum Mountain, she took the advantage from the start despite a crash on the downhill section. Wlosczowska, Anna Szafraniec and McConnelough battled for second place, with the host eventually edging ahead.


Pendrell, McConnelough and Martinez were so impressed with the race, course and spectators that they said the venue was worthy of being moved up to UCI class one status or even being given the chance to host a World Cup. The 2010 race is already being planned.

Czech rider jiri friedl topped the podium in the elite men’s race, ahead of filip eberl and miguel martinez : czech rider jiri friedl topped the podium in the elite men’s race, ahead of filip eberl and miguel martinez
Marek Tyniec


Elite men:
1 Friedl Jiri (Merida Biking Team) 1:43:35
2 Eberl Filip (Scott Scania Team Kolin) 0:02:00
3 Martinez Miguel 0:03:31
4 Gogolev Maxim (RUS Leningrad Region) 0:04:58
5 Hebisz Rafal (MTB-Silesia Rybnik) 0:07:24
6 Galinski Marek (JBG-2 Professional MTB Team) 0:08:41
7 Broderick Michael (Kenda Seven Notubes) 0:09:33
8 Vorontsov Denis (Russia Team) 0:11:16
9 Sablik Lukas (Scott Scania Team Kolin) 0:11:32
10 Seledkov Ivan (Russia Team) 0:13:04
Elite women:
1 Pendrel Catherine (Luna) 1:37:30
2 Wloszczowska Maja (Reprezentacja Polski) 0:04:35
3 Szafraniec Anna (JBG-2 Professional MTB Team) 0:04:51
4 McConneloug Marry (Kenda Seven Notubes) 0:05:04
5 Dawidowicz Aleksandra (Reprezentacja Polski) 0:08:16
6 Gurycka Paula (Reprezentacja Polski) 0:15:27
7 Klishina Yana (Karo-Film) 0:24:20
8 Rokita Aleksandra (KS Lechia Piechowice) 0:25:30
9 Gogoleva Elena (RUS Leningrad Region) 0:34:01