GB and Australia announce Worlds teams

'Long' teams bid for Italian glory

The Great Britain cycling team have announced the long list of riders for the 2008 Road World Championships in Italy.


A further selection of the riders to travel to Italy for the championships will be announced closer to the event which starts on 23 September.

The list includes the Olympic Women’s road race champion Nicole Cooke, and the Olympic silver medallist in the Women’s time trial Emma Pooley.

In the events GB will be allowed six riders in the Men’s Elite road race, seven including the Olympic champion (otherwise six) for the Women’s road race, five for the Under 23 road race and two each for the time trials.

The Elite riders for the road race are Mark Cavendish, Steve Cummings, Chris Froome, David Millar, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Rob Hayles, Russell Downing,  Daniel Lloyd and Dan Fleeman.

The Under 23 riders are Ben Swift, Peter Kennaugh, Alex Dowsett, Jonny Bellis, Jonny McEvoy, Andy Tennant, Russell Hampton and Mark McNally.

Cooke and Pooley are joined in the women’s team by Sharon Laws, Rachel Heal, Jessica Allen, Lizzie Armitstead and Catherine Hare.

In the time trial, the Elite Men are Steve Cummings, David Millar and Chris Froome; the Women are Emma Pooley, Sharon Laws and Nicole Cooke; and the Under 23s are Alex Dowsett and Russell Hampton.

Meanwhile, the Australians have also announced their long-list team.

In the Elite Men’s long team, Ben Day is the specialist time trialler, while Cadel Evans and Michael Rogers take on both disciplines.

The road race team, including Evans and Rogers, is: Allan Davis, Simon Gerrans, Matthew Goss, Adam Hansen, Aaron Kemps, Matt Lloyd, Trent Lowe, Robbie McEwen, Bradley McGee, Stuart O’Grady, Mark Renshaw, Chris Sutton, William Walker and Matthew Wilson.

The Elite Women’s team time triallers are Bridie O’Donnell, Alexis Rhodes and Vicki Whitelaw (both disciplines), while the road race team is: Natalie Bates, Nikki Egyed, Rochelle Gilmore, Emma Rickards, Carla Ryan and Oenone Wood.


The U23 Men’s team is: Simon Clarke, Mitchell Docker, Cameron Meyer, Travis Meyer and Wesley Sulzberger.