GB team for Track Worlds announced

Pendleton, Hoy and Wiggins at heart of squad

Bradley Wiggins will be hoping to add to his medal tally in Manchester

British Cycling has announced a 23-rider Great Britain team for the UCI Track Cycling World Championships, to be held in Manchester from March 26 to 30. 


In 2007 the team won an unprecedented seven gold medals at the event, with Victoria Pendleton taking three (Sprint, Keirin & Team Sprint) and Chris Hoy (Keirin & Kilo) and Bradley Wiggins (Team Pursuit & Individual Pursuit) two apiece. These three are at the heart of a team which also features a number of riders under the age of 20.

 Dave Brailsford, Performance Director of the GB Cycling Team said: “This team is an exciting mix of experienced World Champions and talented young riders who are breaking through. It will be a special championship for everyone in the team: not only is it the last major event before the Beijing Olympics; it is also taking place on our home track in Manchester, where we will be able to count great crowd support.”

This will be the third time in twelve years that the track Worlds have been held at the Manchester Velodrome (previously 1996 and 2000) and this year the venue has added benefit of a newly re-laid track.


Lizzie Armitstead

Anna Blyth

Steve Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Matt Crampton

Kate Cullen

Steve Cummings

David Daniell

Ross Edgar

Rob Hayles

Wendy Houvenaghel

Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny

Paul Manning

Vicky Pendleton

Shanaze Reade

Rebecca Romero

Jo Rowsell

Jamie Staff

Geraint Thomas

Jessica Varnish


Bradley Wiggins