Hutchinson reigns in UK national 10 championship

Weekend time trial roundup

The winner for the last three years, Michael Hutchinson (In Gear Quickvit RT) was in superb form as he secured another win in the National 10-Mile Time Trial Championship, staged in Hampshire on Sunday.


Hutchinson clocked 18min 7sec to win the event by 43 seconds in a field full of class. His time was just nine seconds short of the national record set by Bradley Wiggins in 2006.

The last man off, Hutchinson looked composed as he took victory with relative ease, although his form was something of an unknown with the In Gear rider not having ridden many time trials over the last year.

Second spot went to Plowman Craven RT’s Tony Gibb, whose time of 18min 50sec was good enough for second place, and Shorter Rochford’s Charles McCulloch took third with 19min 03sec.

In the women’s event, Julia Shaw (GS Strada) produced the second fastest ride ever (after Wendy Houvenaghel’s 19’50 last year) to win. Clocking 20min 32sec, the 42-year-old won by just four seconds from 19-year-old Joanna Rowsell (Halfords Bikehut) with another Halfords Bikehut rider Emma Trott finishing third in 21min 10sec.

And in the junior event, Guernsey Velo Club 17-year-old Daniel Arblaster won with a time of 19min 53sec, beating club-mate James McLaughlin by 10 seconds.


1 Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit RT) 0:18:07
2 Tony Gibb (Team Plowman Craven Pro Cycling) 0:18:50
3 Charles McCulloch (Shorter Rochford RT) 0:19:03
4 Ben Instone ( 0:19:09
5 Alex Dowsett (100% ME 0:19:16
1 Julia Shaw (GS Strada) 0:20:32
2 Joanna Rowsell (Team Halfords Bikehut) 0:20:36
3 Emma Trott (Team Halfords Bikehut) 0:21:10
4 Jessica Wilson-Young (Edinburgh RC) 0:21:22
5 Ruth Eyles (Beacon Roads CC 0:21:32
1 Daniel Arblaster (Guernsey Velo Club) 0:19:53
2 James McLaughlin (Guernsey Velo Club) 0:20:03
3 Joe Perrett (Glendene Biketrax CC) 0:20:04
4 Richard Handley (Max Gear RT) 0:20:08
5 Tom Yeatman (Glendene Biketrax CC 0:20:3

Other racing

In the Crawley Wheelers Sporting 41.9-mile event in West Sussex, East Grinstead CC rider Steve Dennis broke the course record by more than two minutes as he took victory on Sunday.

Dennis stopped the clock in 1hr 37min 43sec to beat PCA CIclos Uno rider Tristan Davenne into second by 1min 5sec, with Mike Newton (Sydenham Wheelers) third, another 3min 13sec off the pace.

Setting a new personal best by around seven and a half minutes, Paul Dring (Echelon Spiuk) won the Hounslow and District Wheelers 100-mile event at Farnham, Hampshire.

His time of 3hr 48min 34sec was good enough to take the win by 46 seconds from Paul Holdsworth of the promoting club, while Paul Anderson (South Western Road Club) was third with 4hr 4min 41sec.

South Bucks Road Club’s Michelle Ayres was fastest woman with 4hr 30min 27sec, while Holdsworth led the Hounslow and District Wheelers to the team prize alongside Rob Gilmore and Chris Lilliband.

Kent Cycles Road Club’s Malcolm Davis won the San Fairy Ann CC 50-mile event by 23 seconds from Oxford University CC’s Jessie Elzinga, while Kevin Tye ( was third with 1hr 56min 17sec.

Tye was also best veteran on standard, with a plus of 27min 2sec, while Davis helped Kent Cycles to the team prize alongside Gary Banfield (1hr 58sec 55min) and Carl Bradford (2hr 7min 50sec).

Just three seconds separated winner Lee Bark (Stowmarket and District CC) from second-placed James Emman (Anglia Velo) in the Ipswich Bicycle Club 25-mile event at Sudbourne, Suffolk, on Saturday.


Bark clocked 57min 53sec, and while Emman was his nearest rival with 57min 56sec, his team-mate at Stowmarket Andrew Leggett also turned in a good ride with 58min 49sec.