Kopp takes final Majorca leg

There is a frantic finish to the final leg of the Majorca Challenge where David Kopp wins, while two

There is a frantic finish to the final leg of the Majorca Challenge where David Kopp wins, while two



Gerolsteiner’s David Kopp won Thursday’s final leg of the five-day Majorca Challenge run between the neighbouring resorts of Magalluf and Palmanova. Comunitat Valenciana’s David Bernabeu took the unofficial overall prize based on results in what are five one-day races that riders can opt in and out of at will.

The final stage ended frantically, as four breakaway riders were caught by the remains of the peloton inside the last 100 metres. Kopp led the charge from behind, beating new T-Mobile signing Lorenzo Bernucci, with I¤aki Isasi, the last of the breakaways to be caught, in third place. Just behind him was promising Comunitat Valenciana rider Julian Sanchez, who was close to a win for the third time this week.

Stage 5, Magalluf-Palmanova

1 David Kopp (Ger) Gerolsteiner 148.3km in 3.50.11 (38.66kph)
2 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) T-Mobile
3 I¤aki Isasi (Spa) Euskaltel
4 Julian Sanchez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana
5 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak 0.02
6 Jorge Azanza (Spa) Kaiku
7 Javier Benitez (Spa) Nicolas Mateos
8 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile
9 Markus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner
10 Koos Moerenhout (Hol) Phonak


1 David Bernabeu (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 17.20.05
2 Antonio Colom (Spa) Illes Balears 0.07
3 Julian Sanchez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 0.16
4 Koos Moerenhout (Hol) Phonak 0.20
5 Frank Schleck (Lux) CSC 0.28
6 Rodrigo Garcia (Spa) Kaiku 0.31
7 Joseba Albizu (Spa) Euskaltel 0.35
8 Jorge Azanza (Spa) Kaiku 1.03
9 Constantino Zaballa (Spa) Illes Balears 1.08
10 Francisco Cabello (Spa) Andalucia-Paul Versan 1.17

– Experienced Italian Elio Aggiano won today’s seventh stage of the Tour de Langkawi, finishing just ahead of Great Britain’s Russell Downing and Navigators’ Bernard van Ulden in Kota Tinggi. These three were the final members of what had been a nine-strong group that spent most of the stage clear of the main peloton.

Just when it seemed they were about to be caught with 5km remaining, Aggiano made his move, perhaps aware that Downing had a faster finish, and managed to hang on as the bunch came in just seven seconds down. Great Britain’s Mark Cavendish was right up there in the bunch sprint, finishing fifth on the stage. South Africa’s David George retained the overall lead as the leading placings were largely unchanged.

Stage 7, Muar-Kota Tinggi


1 Elio Aggiano (Ita) LPR 188.2km in 4.21.36 (43.17kph)
2 Russell Downing (GB) Great Britain 0.03
3 Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Navigators
4 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Wiesenhof 0.07
5 Mark Cavendish (GB) Great Britain
6 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
7 Samuele Marzoli (Ita) LPR
8 Ruben Bongiorno (Arg) Panaria
9 Erki Ptsep (Est) Ag2r
10 Sbastien Hinault (Fra) Crdit Agricole