Latest: Mallorca 4 and Tour of Med 1 results

Toni Colom (Astana) won the fourth stage of the Challenge Mallorca, but Caisse d'Epargne had a good


Toni Colom (Astana) won the fourth stage of the Challenge Mallorca, but Caisse d’Epargne had a good

PIC BY VUELTA A MALLORCA Mallorca 4: Colom the best in Port de S¢ller Antonio Colom (Astana) has taken the fourth stage of the Challenge Mallorca in Port de S¢ller. The Spaniard beat compatriot Luis Le¢n S nchez (Caisse d’Epargne-Illes Balears) and Alberto Contador (Discovery Channel) in a three man sprint after escaping on the Coll de Puig Major. A larger chase group finished 13 seconds behind, while S nchez took over the leader’s jersey. The fourth stage started in S¢ller shortly before midday with 199 riders. The peloton crossed the cat. 2 Con Costa climb (km 17) intact, with Davide Vigan (Quick.Step) leading it over ahead of Jorge Ferrio (Andaluc¡a-Cajasur) and Josu Mondelo (Extremadura-Spiuk). A group of 16 attacked after 33 km, with Vigan involved again along with Perez and Mayoz (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Mart¡nez and Rosendo (Andaluc¡a-Cajasur), Grabsch and Schrder (Milram), Terciado (Relax-Gam), Abril (Vi¤a Magna-Cropu), Morabito (Astana), Lloret (Fuerteventura-Canarias), G¢mez (Saunier Duval-Prodir), Baumann and Klier (T-Mobile), Trenti (Liguigas) and Padrnos (Discovery). The break covered 43 km in the first hour, with Caisse d’Epargne keeping things in check behind. On the day’s second climb, Sa Batalla (km 71), the group had 1’30 over the bunch. Baumann took the mountain points there ahead of Schrder and Mart¡nez. The 16 in front kept their speed up at 43 km/h for the second hour, increasing their advantage to 4’47 as Karpin-Galicia began to work in the peloton. On the second ascent of the Coll de Sa Batalla (km 131), it was Mart¡nez leading Schrder and Grabsch over, with the bunch 1’46 back. As the final climb of the Coll de Puig Major started, the break fell apart and immediately, Colom (Astana), S nchez (Caisse d’Epargne), Nibali (Liquigas), and Contador (Discovery) attacked. The group had just 20 seconds at the top of the climb with 16 km of downhill to go, and all but Nibali managed to hold off the chasing bunch to the end. Colom was the quickest in the sprint ahead of Sanchez and Contador. Tomorrow’s final stage is between Magalluf and Palmanova over 147 km. It features a number of cat. 2 and cat. 3 climbs, and doesn’t look to be sprinter friendly. Stage 4 results 1 Antonio Colom (Spa, Astana) 04:06:13 2 Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa, Illes Balears-Caisse d’Epargne) 3 Alberto Contador (Spa, Discovery Channel) 4 Vicente Reynes (Spa, Illes Balears-Caisse d’Epargne) 00:00:13 5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita, Liquigas) 6 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita, T-Mobile Team) 7 Vladimir Gusev (Rus, Discovery Channel) 8 Jorge Ferrio (Spa, Andalucia-Cajasur) 9 Jos Adrian Bonilla (CRc, Fuerteventura-Canarias) 10 Iker Cama¤o (Spa, Saunier Duval-Prodir) General classification after stage 4 1 Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa, Illes Balears-Caisse d’Epargne) 13:51:39 2 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa, Karpin-Galicia) 00:00:08 3 Vladimir Gusev (Rus, Discovery Channel) 4 Alberto Fernandez (Spa, Saunier Duval-Prodir) 5 David De La Fuente (Spa, Saunier Duval-Prodir) 00:00:16 6 Vicente Reynes (Spa, Illes Balears-Caisse d’Epargne) 00:00:18 7 Jos Adrian Bonilla (CRc, Fuerteventura-Canarias) 8 Stijn Devolder (Bel, Discovery Channel) 00:01:18 9 Pieter Weening (Ned, Rabobank) 10 Gustavo Dominguez (Spa, Karpin-Galicia 00:01:22 Tour of Med 1: Caisse d’Epargne wins TTT The opening stage of the Tour Mditerranen was a 26.2 km team time trial, won by Spanish outfit Caisse d’Epargne-Illes Balears. Driven along by Jos Iv n Gutirrez, Caisse d’Epargne averaged 49.3 km/h on the course around Gruissan. In second place, at 15 seconds, was Franaise Des Jeux, followed by Tinkoff Credit Systems at 17 seconds. Gutirrez will wear the leader’s jersey in this afternoon’s second stage between Gruissan and Agde, over 107 km. Stage 1 results 1 Caisse d’Epargne 0:31:54 2 Franaise Des Jeux 0:00:15 3 Tinkoff Credit Systems 0:00:17 4 Liquigas 0:00:42 5 Lampre-Fondital 0:00:45 6 Milram 0:00:54 7 Cofidis 0:00:57 8 Acqua & Sapone-Caff Mokambo 0:01:00 9 Crdit Agricole 0:01:06 10 Bouygues Telecom 0:01:15 General classification after stage 1 1 Iv n Gutirrez (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 0:31:54 2 Aitor Prez Arrieta (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 3 Imanol Erviti (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 4 Alexei Markov (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne) 5 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne) 6 Florent Brard (Fra, Caisse d’Epargne) 7 Marco Fertonani (Ita, Caisse d’Epargne) 8 Jos Vicente Garcia Acosta (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 0:00:05 9 Mathieu Ladagnous (Fra, Franaise Des Jeux) 0:00:15 10 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin, Franaise Des Jeux) Got a comment? Discuss this in the Procycling forum. What else is new? Check out the Procycling blog.