Mallorca: Australian Brown takes charge

Rabobank sprinter takes stage 2 & lead

The Challenge Mallorca peloton enjoys the winter sunshine

Australian Graeme Brown, riding for the Rabobank team, won the second stage of the Tour of Mallorca on Monday.


Brown, who finished second in the first of the five stages on Sunday, sprinted home in the 162.7km run from Cala Millor to Son Servera and take the leader’s jersey from Belgian Philippe Gilbert.


For full results see


1 Graeme Brown (Aus|Rabobank) 3:53:52 (41.74km/h)
2 Denis Flahaut (Fra|Saunier Duval-Scott)
3 Gert Steegmans (Bel|Quick Step)
4 Philippe Gilbert (Bel|Francaise Des Jeux)
5 Jose J. Rojas (Spa|Caisse D’Epargne)
6 Tomas Vaitkus (Kaz|Astana)
7 Aitor Perez (Spa|Extremadura-G. Galla)
8 Aitor Galdos (Spa|Euskaltel-Euskadi)
9 Antonio Colom (Spa|Astana) 0:00:03
10 Bram Schmitz (Ned|Van Vliet EBH Elshof)
General classification after stage 2
1 Graeme Brown (Aus|Rabobank) 5:56:56
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel|Francaise Des Jeux)
3 Denis Flahaut (Fra|Saunier Duval-Scott)
4 Gert Steegmans (Bel|Quick Step)
5 Jose J. Rojas (Spa|Caisse D’Epargne)
6 Aitor Perez (Spa|Extremadura-G. Galla)
7 Aitor Galdos (Spa|Euskaltel-Euskadi)
8 Robert Förster (Ger|Gerolsteiner) 0:00:03
9 Fco.José Ventoso (Spa|Andalucia-Cajasur)
10 Bram Schmitz (Ned|Van Vliet EBH Elshof)