Martin Soederstroem goes Big In Bavaria

BMX win goes to Brandon Dosch

Sweden’s Martin Soederstroem pulled some stunning tricks out of the bag to win the mountain bike dirt jump competition at this weekend’s Big In Bavaria event.


Second place went to the UK’s Sam Pilgrim, while Canadian freerider Darren Berrecloth – who also rode in the BMX comp – rounded off the podium.

In the BMX event, it was Brandon Dosch from the United States who took the win and US$9,500 cash. He was joined on the podium by his countryman TJ Ellis and German rider Simon Moratz.

Mountain bike

The mountain bike qualifications scheduled for Saturday were cancelled because of bad weather, but come the big final on Sunday, riders were greeted by sunny skies.

Specialized rider Benny Korthaus was looking good, with a huge backflip and 360 tables on the big dirt line, but he wasn’t able to stick one of his 360 tailwhips after a dodgy landing on his final run. He also struggled with the wind and had hang-ups on other runs, meaning he finished seventh.

Czech newcomer Jan Toth bagged sixth place with some rarely seen superman tailwhips, while France’s Yannick Graneri went one better with a series of no-handed backflips, 360 truck drivers and 360 tailwhips.

Munich local Amir Kabbani got a lot of support from the German fans and just missed out on a podium spot with his display of backflip tuck no-hands, X-up one-footers and super-high 360 tailwhips.

Darren berrecloth – 360 table at big in bavaria 2009: darren berrecloth – 360 table at big in bavaria 2009
David Ulrich

Canadian Darren Berrecloth competed in both the BMX and mountain bike comps

Darren Berrecloth proved again that he is one of the most versatile bike riders around. Having placed fifth in the BMX, he put even more energy into his mountain bike runs. A 360 at the step-down was followed by opposite 360 tabletop one-foots and superseaters.

But the Canadian grandmaster had no chance against two young riders from the UK and Sweden. Sam Pilgrim and Martin Soederstroem battled hard for the title, with Sam backflipping the step-down and packing his runs with state-of-the-art tricks including frontflips, backflip no-handers and 360 variations.

However, it was the 19-year-old rider from Uppsala in Sweden who took the win with bar spins and tailwhips at the step-down, huge superseaters and double tailwhips, as well as 360 combos with tailwhips, tabletops and tuck no-handers.

Sam pilgrim – flip tuck no-hand at big in bavaria 2009: sam pilgrim – flip tuck no-hand at big in bavaria 2009
Yorick Carroux

Sam Pilgrim just missed out on the top spot with tricks like this flip tuck no-hander


Heavy rain and gusts of wind meant the BMX qualifications on Friday were also cancelled. The wind was still high on Saturday, but the big names in the BMX business showed they are pros for a reason and pulled off some stunning runs on  the huge dirt line featuring seven jumps.

Brandon Dosch landed 720s, opposite 360s, 360 double tailwhips, barspin-to-tailwhips and various combinations in his final runs perfectly. No question, the Redline team rider deserved the Big In Bavaria title.

TJ Ellis pulled backflips with X-up one-foot and superman variations, fancy cannonballs and huge frontflips at the last double to secure second place.

German rookie Simon Moratz went off with his 360s, frontflips and backflip no-hands, and displaced a lot of the biggest names, like Mike Clark, Josh Hult, Josh Stead and James Foster.

American Mike Clark was the only one throwing down backflips at the step-down, while Darren Berrecloth showed his versatility by pulling 360s on this challenging jump. He was the only rider to compete in both the BMX and mountain bike comps.

BMX top three at big in bavaria 2009: bmx top three at big in bavaria 2009
Yorick Carroux

Brandon Dosch, TJ Ellis and Simon Moratz made the BMX podium


Mountain bike

 1 Martin Soederströoem (Swe/NS Bikes)

 2 Sam Pilgrim (GBr/Ashton Diamondback)

3 Darren Berrecloth (Can/Specialized)

 4 Amir Kabbani (Ger/Cannondale)

 5 Yannick Granieri (Fra/Giant)

 6 Jan Toth (Cze/NS Bikes)

7 Benny Korthaus (Ger/Specialized)

8 Andi Wittman (Ger/Giant)

9 Simon Kirchmann (Ger/Scott)

10 Tyler McCaul (USA/GT Bikes)

11 Mischa Breitenstein (Sui/Kona)

12 Linus Sjoeholm (Swe/Scott)

13 Phil Sundbaum (USA/Haro)

14 Marius Hoppensack (Ger/Scott)

15 Jakub Vencl (Cze/Agang)

16 Greg Watts (USA/Gary Fisher)


1 Brandon Dosch (USA/Redline)

2 TJ Ellis (USA/Vans)

3 Simon Moratz (Ger/Felt)

4 Mike Clark (USA/Redline)

5 Darren Berrecloth (Can/Specialized)

6 Dave Dillewaard (Aus/GT)

7 Alejandro Caro (Col/WeThePeople)

8 Josh Hult (USA/Redline)

9 Josh Stead (Aus)

10 Ricardo Laguna (USA/Dans Comp)

11 James Foster (USA/KHE)

12 Dusan Antalik (Cze/Nike 6.0)

13 Daniel Juchatz (Ger/Lafinca)

14 Cristian Porras (Col)

15 Max Bimar (Fra/Vans)


16 Patrick Guimez (Fra/Monster)