Minnaar and Curd take the win in Fort William

Round three of the British National Points Series

Minnaar races in Fort William

Almost a month after topping the podium at the World Cup in Fort William, South African Greg Minnaar bagged another win on the slopes above the Highland Scottish town at the third round of the British National Points Series. Winner of the last round of the NPS Ben Cathro (Mojo Orange) came second ahead of Joe Barnes (MTBcut.tv.Orange). Team BikeRadar riders Marc Beaumont and Neil Donoghue finished fourth and fifth, respectively.


In the Elite Women’s race, Helen Gaskell (Halfords Bike Hut) returned to racing action after injury but couldn’t hold off Katy Curd (Giant) who won by just over five seconds to post her first NPS win. Calamity Jayne Cann (CF3) took third place while Aimee Dix (Mojo Orange) finished fourth ahead of Haby-Blu Cann (EMBC/CF3).

Here are the full results:

Juvenile Men

  •     1st Fraser McGlone 5:36:632
  •     2nd Greg Gilfillan 5:48:838
  •     3rd Billy Matthews J E James Cycles 6:03:464
  •     4th Mathew Scott Peebles CC 6:13:464
  •     5th Bow-Jango Cann CF3 6:18:720

Youth Men

  •     1st Arran Gannicott Santa Cruz 5:09:988
  •     2nd Mark Scott Ecosse DH Racing 5:24:684
  •     3rd Sam Flockhart Astrix/Descent Gear 5:26:384
  •     4th Lewis Buchanan MT Cut Tv/Orange 5:27:461

Junior Men

  •     1st Gareth Brewin Descent World/Santa Cruz 5:17:180
  •     2nd Ryan Martin Descend Hamsterley 5:19:136
  •     3rd James Scott Cycle Jersey/Burgtec 5:19:692
  •     4th Ashley Maller Knox 5:24:782
  •     5th Harry Heath 5:26:674

Veteran Men

  •     1st Alastair Maclennan Off Beat Bikes 5:32:526
  •     2nd Jerry Twigg Cycleworld 5:55:781
  •     3rd Rich Simpson 5:56:380
  •     4th Martin Crocket MSC Bikes/Descent Gear.com 5:58:897
  •     5th Gary Burns Midlands & Borders DH Club 6:11:827

Master Men

  •     1st Mark Wilcox 5:31:920
  •     2nd MarkWeightmanLeisureLakes 5:32:870
  •     3rd Russ Harland 5:33:992
  •     4th Andrew Buddin Descend Hamsterley 5:34:704
  •     5th Mark Milward Swinnerton Cycles 5:36:716

Senior Men

  •     1st Paul Goddard 5:28:491
  •     2nd James Shirley Off Beat Bikes 5.28:645
  •     3rd Ross Anderson MSC Bikes/Descent Gear 5:29:360
  •     4th AndyWoodvineLeisureLakes 5:30:944
  •     5th David Duggan 5:31:231

Expert Men

  •     1st Ben Hall Team CHR 5:11:292
  •     2nd Ian Cookson Pedal Power 5:14:347
  •     3rd Rich Thomas Ancillotti UK 5:14:602
  •     4th Joseph Horton Pearce Cycles Race Team 5:17:816
  •     5th Scott Mears Fox/Astrix/5 10 5:20:160

Elite Men

  •     1st Greg Minnaar Santa Cruz Syndicate 4:50:483
  •     2nd Ben Cathro Mojo Orange 4:55:921
  •     3rd Joe Barnes MTBcut.Tv.Orange 5.02.513
  •     4th Marc Beaumont Bike Radar 5:02:513
  •     5th Neil Donoghue Bike Radar 5:04:4

Elite Women

  •     1st Katy Curd Giant 5:59:019
  •     2nd Helen Gaskell Halfords Bike Hut 6:04:430
  •     3rd Calamity-Jayne Cann CF3 6:15:114