Murcia 3: Fortuna shines on Davis

Allan Davis ends Danilo Hondo's winning run at the Tour of Murcia, but the German still leads going

DAVIS Allan ( AUS ) / BARANOWSKI Dariusz ( POL ) / GONZALEZ GALDEANO Igor ( ESP ) / HRUSKA Jan ( CZE ) / SERRANO Marcos ( ESP ) / VANDEVELDE Christian ( USA ) / VICIOSO Angel ( ESP )
Allan Davis ends Danilo Hondo’s winning run at the Tour of Murcia, but the German still leads going

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM On a cold day where the tops of the two third-category climbs were both freezing and snow-covered, Allan Davis put an end to Danilo Hondo’s unbeaten record at the Tour of Murcia when he finished a bike length clear of the German in the bunch sprint in Fortuna. Temperatures were not far above freezing point at the start, where pre-race favourite Ivan Gutierrez did not make an appearance due to illness. Halfway through the stage another major Spanish name abandoned the race in the shape of Joseba Beloki, who got into the Liberty team car at the feed. At this point a break of four riders – Maxine Monfort (Landbouwkrediet), Nils Scheuneman (Rabobank), Juan Jos Cobo (Saunier Duval) and Jos Antonio Lopez (Kaiku) – were well clear of the bunch and sharing out sprint and climbing points between them. Their maximum lead was five minutes, but the bunch never let them get too far clear – it was simply too wet and cold for dawdling. Lopez was the last of the quartet to be reeled in, with 10km to go, and attacks after that point were all negated by the sprinters’ teams, with Davis the ultimate beneficiary. The conditions today suggest that there could be problems finishing tomorrow’s key stage at the Collado Bermejo. Damiano Cunego has said he is determined to win this stage and pay tribute to Marco Pantani, who is a former winner on the mountain. 1 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros-Wurth 156km in 3.59.27 (39.09kph) 2 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3 Antonio Salomone (Ita) Barloworld 4 Crescenzo d’Amore (Ita) Acqua e Sapone 5 Angel Edo (Spa) Saunier Duval 6 Wesley van der Linden (Hol) Chocolade Jacques 7 Ricardo Serrano (Spa) Kaiku 8 Sergio Escobar (Spa) Illes Balears 9 Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua e Sapone 10 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Barloworld 18 Jukka Vastaranta (Fin) Rabobank 22 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 48 Steve Cummings (GB) Landbouwkrediet 56 Ben Day (Aus) 59 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Rabobank 70 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner Overall standings 1 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 8.12.10 2 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 0.21 3 Antonio Colom (Spa) Illes Balears 0.51 4 David Plaza (Spa) Barloworld 0.53 5 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Illes Balears 1.00 6 Sergi Escobar (Spa) Illes Balears 1.04 7 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner 1.17 8 Jos Luis Martinez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 1.20 9 Ben Day (Aus) 1.22 10 Koldo Gil (Spa) Liberty Seguros 1.31 13 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 1.50 16 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Rabobank 1.57 17 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros 1.58 32 Steve Cummings (GB) Landbouwkrediet 2.12