No stopping Voigt in Med

Team CSC's Jens Voigt leaves no doubt as to who is the strongest rider at the Tour of the Mediterran

Cycling : Tour Méditerranéen / Stage 2
VOIGT Jens ( Ger ) Yellow Jersey Maillot Jaune Gele Trui / Podium / Celebration Joie Vreugde
Stage 2 : Villeneuve Loubet ( Fra ) - Bormes ( Fra )
Tour Med / Ronde Middelandse Zee
Etape / Rit
Team CSC’s Jens Voigt leaves no doubt as to who is the strongest rider at the Tour of the Mediterran

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Jens Voigt tightened his grip on the Tour of the Med title when he won what is so often the decisive stage in this race to the summit of Mont Faron, above the naval port of Toulon. Voigt received considerable assistance from team-mate Franck Schleck, who was the first to attack on the final climb and attacked again near the summit after Voigt had countered a break by Davide Rebellin. The victory leaves Voigt 44 seconds clear of new second-placed rider Franco Pellizotti going into Saturday’s 36-kilometre team time trial, for which Voigt’s CSC team are the favourites. “I would like to dedicate this victory to the whole team. They all worked so hard for me and even though there were some major attacks on Mont Faron, we never lost control of the situation,” said Voigt after recording his third win of the season. CSC team boss Bjarne Riis was naturally happy with how the day had gone as well. “It is rare that tactics have such a perfect outcome as the one today. It is a victory for the whole team to be proud of. We have yet again proven ourselves to be the best team, and it looks really promising for the overall victory,” said Riis. Stage 3, La Garde-Mont Faron 1 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC 134km in 3.38.49 (36.74kph) 2 David Moncouti (Fra) Cofidis 0.11 3 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas 4 Franck Schleck (Lux) CSC 0.18 5 Przemislaw Niemec (Pol) Miche 6 Thomas Lovkvist (Swe) La Franaise des Jeux 7 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 8 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo 0.24 9 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner 0.32 10 Matthias Russ (Ger) Gerolsteiner 0.53 Overall 1 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC 10.07.25 2 Pellizotti 0.44 3 Schleck (Lux) CSC 0.49 4 Kirchen 0.57 5 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 0.59 6 Lovkvist 7 Rebellin 1.09 8 Moncouti 1.10 9 Nicki Sorensen (Den) CSC 1.34 10 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 1.46