P-Nice 6: Posthuma delivers for Rabobank

Joost Posthuma gives Rabobank a fine breakaway win in Cannes as Bobby Julich and his CSC team keep t

Cycling : Team CSC 2005 

Equipe Ploeg
Joost Posthuma gives Rabobank a fine breakaway win in Cannes as Bobby Julich and his CSC team keep t

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Rabobank’s Joost Posthuma won the sixth stage of Paris-Nice into Cannes this afternoon. Posthuma finished more than a minute clear of Domina Vacanze’s Jorg Ludewig after breaking away from the German in the final kilometres of the stage. There was no change overall, with CSC comfortably protecting Bobby Julich’s lead. Posthuma was part of an eight-man break that went away after just 5km of racing. On the final climb of the day, the Col du Tanneron, Ludewig made a break from this group, only to be caught by Posthuma near the top of the climb. The Rabobank rider pushed hard on the descent to get a gap on what was by now his only rival for the stage win. At the foot of the Tanneron, Ludewig almost got back on to Posthuma’s wheel, but with a strong tailwind to encourage him Posthuma ploughed on in the big ring and gradually eased away to take his biggest win as a pro. Back in the bunch, there were plenty of attempts to get clear of CSC’s control on the narrow road up the Tanneron, notably by Tom Danielson and Saunier Duval’s Jos Angel Gomez. But Julich and his CSC team-mates never looked in trouble and kept things nice and tight. Julich goes into Sunday’s final stage with a 19-second advantage over Saunier’s Constantino Zaballa, and should now hold on given his back-of-the-hand knowledge of the roads the race covers on the final stage. Stage 6, La Crau-Cannes 1 Joost Posthuma (Hol) Rabobank 184km in 4.41.24 (39.23kph) 2 Jorg Ludewig (Ger) Domina Vacanze 1.11 3 Aaron Kemps (Aus) Liberty Seguros 1.43 4 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Ag2r 5 Thomas Ziegler (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3.11 6 Bram Schmitz (Hol) T-Mobile 7 Marc Lotz (Hol) Quick Step 8 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step 4.02 9 Jens Voigt (Ger) CSC 10 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Discovery Channel 18 Bobby Julich (USA) CSC 19 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Illes Balears 25 Cadel Evans 27 Thomas Lovkvist (Swe) Francaise des Jeux 49 Tom Danielson (USA) Discovery Channel 84 Charly Wegelius (GB) Liquigas-Bianchi 6.06 90 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank 95 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 124 Carlos Sastre 13.44 126 David Zabriskie (USA) CSC 132 Ian McLeod (SA) Francaise des Jeux 16.33 DNF Michael Rogers (Aus) Quick Step Overall 1 Bobby Julich (USA) CSC 19.03.44 2 Constantino Zaballa (Spa) Saunier Duval 0.19 3 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Illes Balears 0.20 4 Jens Voigt (Ger) CSC 0.44 5 Jorg Jaksche (Ger) Liberty Seguros 0.45 6 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.55 7 Frank Schleck (Lux) CSC 0.58 8 Cadel Evans (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto 9 Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa) Fassa Bortolo 1.12 10 Jos Angel Gomez (Spa) Saunier Duval 1.20 14 Lovkvist 1.36 47 Danielson 5.24 49 Thomas Dekker 5.41 57 Kemps 8.12 61 Landis 10.14 97 Rodriguez 21.05 99 Zabriskie 23.22 100 Hayman 23.25 101 Sastre 23.36 109 Wegelius 30.46 127 McLeod 40.16