Peaty wins Nissan Lisboa DownTown

Urban downhill race watched by 20,000 spectators

Steve Peat continued his dominance of the Nissan Lisboa DownTown urban downhill race this weekend, winning the 10-year-old event for the eighth time.


The Briton beat Aussie Mick Hannah (GT Bicycles) and his own team-mate Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate) to take the top spot.

Peat said it was the hardest urban race he had ever competed in. He said: “After a bad qualification session, the race was very hard and I felt the pressure until the last second!”

Trek World Racing’s Andrew Neethling, who came sixth, said: “This race is so different to what we do normally. The restricted practice and the need to get to know this course, for carrying speed and braking points, means that each time you come here, you learn a little more. I’m still learning but I’m stoked to have a sixth. I really didn’t think that was possible for me here, but I’ll take it!”

The event in Lisbon was watched by a crowd of 20,000. The heart of the Portuguese capital was transformed into a downhill course for the day, with stairs, tram lines, sharp corners, slippery pavements and even a car to negotiate on the 760-metre-long course.

Portuguese rider emanuel pombo descends the course to fourth place: portuguese rider emanuel pombo descends the course to fourth place
Nissan Lisboa Down Town

Portuguese rider Emanuel Pombo on his way to fourth place in the Lisboa Down Town


Want to see Steve Peat at BikeRadar Live? Click here for more info.

BikeRadar live, 30-31 may: bikeradar live, 30-31 may


1 Steve Peat (GBr|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:01:38.281
2 Mick Hannah (Aus|GT Bicycles) 0:00:00.185
3 Greg Minnaar (RSA|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:00:01.733
4 Emanuel Pombo (Por|Liberty/Run&Bike Specialized) 0:00:02.245
5 Roger Gonzalez (Esp|Valnord/Commencal) 0:00:02.361
6 Andrew Neethling (RSA|Trek World Racing) 0:00:03.763
7 Paulo Domingues (Por|Biciplus) 0:00:03.873
8 Marc Beaumont (GBr|GT Bicycles) 0:00:04.030
9 Thibaut Ruffin (Fra|Commencal/Riding Addiction) 0:00:04.341
10 Justin Leov (NZl|Trek World Racing) 0:00:04.494
11 Luis Ferreira (Por|Ventana Garcia Sports) 0:00:05.158
12 Helder Padilha (Por|Team Baeta/NVAuto/Ext.Rid) 0:00:05.885
13 Daniel Wolfe (Irl) 0:00:06.258
14 Marco Fidalgo (Por|Team Berg Sport Zone) 0:00:06.511
15 Josh Bryceland (GBr|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:00:06.968
16 Joel Ferreira (Por| Tubes/ND) 0:00:07.082
17 Claudio Loureiro (Por|Team Bike Zone/Scott/ADA) 0:00:07.108
18 Renato Ventura (Por|Team Berg Sport Zone) 0:00:07.216
19 Daniel Pombo (Por|Liberty/Run&Bike Specialized) 0:00:07.429
20 Filip Polc (Slo|MS Evil Racing) 0:00:07.433
21 Leandro Salgueiro (Por|Avalanche/Vitoria de Janes) 0:00:08.069
22 Wallace Miranda (Bra) 0:00:08.208
23 Marcio Ferreira (Por|MCF/Municipio Sao Bras/G) 0:00:08.458
24 Andre Beato (Por|MCF/Municipio Sao Bras) 0:00:08.500
25 Afonso Ferreira (Team Bike Zone/Scott/ADA) 0:00:16.479