Popovych wins in Catalonia

Thor Hushovd wins the final stage of the Tour of Catalonia in Barcelona, and Discovery's Yaroslav Po


Thor Hushovd wins the final stage of the Tour of Catalonia in Barcelona, and Discovery’s Yaroslav Po



Discovery Channel’s Yaroslav Popovych was confirmed as the overall winner of the Tour of Catalonia this afternoon after the final stage of the race into Barcelona ended in a bunch sprint won by Thor Hushovd (Crdit Agricole).

The short final stage into Sants district of the Catalan capital was as frantically fast as Saturday’s stage, but Popovych’s Discovery team-mates always had things under control. Hushovd got away early on in what turned out to be the longest break of the stage, with Floyd Landis also present.

That break was reeled in by Discovery 15km from the finish, but Hushovd’s spell in the break clearly didn’t blunt his sprinting speed as he led in Fred Rodriguez and 2004 Catalonia winner Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero.

Stage 7, Palleja-Barcelona

1 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crdit Agricole 113km in 2.32.57 (44.33kph)
2 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Davitamon-Lotto
3 Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero (Spa) Phonak
4 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner
5 Claudio Corioni (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
6 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Lampre-Caffita
7 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Saunier Duval
8 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi
9 I¤aki Isasi (Spa) Euskaltel
10 Ricardo Serrano (Spa) Kaiku

Final overall standings

1 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Discovery Channel 22.36.56
2 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita) Saunier Duval 0.20
3 David Moncouti (Fra) Cofidis 0.59
4 Michael Rogers (Aus) Quick Step 1.18
5 Aitor Osa (Spa) Illes Balears 1.23
6 Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero (Spa) Phonak 2.01
7 Eladio Jimenez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 2.09
8 I¤igo Cuesta (Spa) Saunier Duval 2.18
9 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Crdit Agricole 2.20
10 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Kaiku 2.25


18 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile 3.38
22 Iban Mayo (Spa) Euskaltel 4.16
28 Floyd Landis (USA) Phonak 5.07