Scott Beaumont retains British 4X title

Wins for Phillips, Kerr and Mundy

Scott ‘Boom Boom’ Beaumont successfully defended his national title on a rain-drenched track at this weekend’s British Four-Cross Championships at Redhill Extreme in Gloucestershire.


It was the Rocky Mountain rider’s second win on the track in as many days, with him taking top honours at the fifth round of the National 4X Series the day before.

Beaumont qualified fastest by half a second on a dry track, giving him gate choice throughout the day. From there on, he rode hard and progressed to the final, winning all of his heats on the way and showing everyone that he was not going to give up the jersey without a fight.

Minutes before the final the heavens opened and the dry track turned into a mudbath. The gate dropped and, with a river running down the track, Beaumont dropped the hammer and started to pull away from the other finalists. Unfazed by the slippery corners, he pulled away further from the chasing pack and took the win. Duncan Ferris (DMR) came second, with Lee White in third and Will Evans in fourth.

British four-cross championships 2009:
Dave Richardson

Beaumont said: “I am so happy to win the National 4X Championships for the second year in a row. RockyMountain hand-built me a 4X frame for the 2009 season and it has really given me an advantage. Winning the National Championships is a great way for me to say thanks to all the guys at Rocky in Canada and Silverfish here in the UK who spent the hours planning and building this frame for me.”

In the women’s race it was Charlie Phillips (4Mountains/Zumbi/Fox) who topped the podium, with two massive crashes still not enough to stop her progress. Second went to Terri Anne Busbridge, with Katie Radcliffe and Suzanne Lacey (Chicksands Race Team/Spank Bikes) finishing third and fourth respectively.

European junior downhill champion Bernard Kerr (Identiti) won his category, ahead of Scott Roberts (Flow), Pete Warner (Bournemouth BMX Club) and Max Lenthall (Fly Racing), and Isaac Mundy was top youth, beating Alex Metcalfe (Solid/Maw Racing), Daniel Bateson and Adam Thomas (Derryair Cycles).


You can get the full report, rider reaction, results and photography exclusively on

British fourcross championships 2009: british fourcross championships 2009
British Cycling