Shorts: Revolution, results latest

Six-day star Stam confirms appearance in Manchester on Feb 18, Serpa's winning run continues at Lang

Six-day star Stam confirms appearance in Manchester on Feb 18, Serpa’s winning run continues at Lang



With four more international riders now confirmed for Revolution 12 on Saturday, February 18, the Manchester Velodrome is set to experience the strongest endurance line-up of any Revolution event, promising a superb end to a fantastic season. Fresh from winning the Berlin Six, Dutch track star Danny Stam is confirmed to ride, joining team-mate Peter Schep. “It will be great to be back at Revolution,” commented Stam. “The programme is fast and hard but I’m riding well following the victory in Berlin so I hope to get a win or two.”

Swiss rider Alexander Aeschbach will also make the trip to Manchester, as well as Danish pairing of Marc Hester and Jimmi Madsen. It will be a special occasion for Madsen who will be officially retiring at Revolution 12, ending a career that has spanned over 17 years. Having participated in three Olympic Games and six World Championships, Madsen has a wealth of experience on the track. He has also won seven six-day races in his career and rode for CSC on the road over the last few seasons, proving what a versatile rider he is. “Revolution will be my last race so I’m looking forward to it” said Madsen. “I’ve ridden the event before and the crowd is excellent so it will be a good place to finish racing.”

With these riders confirmed Revolution 12 will have four all-star international teams with pairings from Holland, Belgium, Switzerland and Denmark taking on the GB team of Rob Hayles and Chris Newton. The rest of the field will be made up of the best home-grown talent, with plenty of up-and-coming riders ready to take on the experienced pros. The race programme will include a 1km Madison Time Trial, Team Elimination, Points Race and showcase Madison.

Tickets for Revolution 12 are available at or by calling 07005 942 579 or the Velodrome on 0161 223 2244 and selecting option 3.

– Colombian Jos Serpa continued to put thoughts of missing team-mate Jos Rujano out of people’s minds with his second consecutive stage win at the Tour de Langkawi. The Selle Italia rider was a solo winner at the famous Genting Highlands summit finish, coming home almost 90 seconds clear of second-placed Jos Miguel Elias (Relax-Gam). South Africa’s David George was seventh, which was good enough to extend his overall lead to almost two minutes.

Stage 5, Menara TM-Genting Highlands

1 Jos Serpa (Col) Selle Italia-Diquigiovanni 99.7km in 3.01.00 (33.05kph)
2 Jos Miguel Elias (Spa) Relax-Gam 1.28
3 Massimo Iannetti (Ita) LPR 1.33
4 Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Crdit Agricole 1.38
5 Walter Pedraza (Col) Selle Italia
6 Cesar Grajales (Col) Navigators 1.39
7 David George (SA) South Africa 1.41
8 Saul Raisin (USA) Crdit Agricole 2.08
9 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Crdit Agricole 2.14
10 Yohann Le Boulanger (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 2.27

14 David McCann (Ire) Giant Asia 3.19
15 Robin Sharman (GB) 3.33
16 Darren Lill (RS) South Africa 4.03
18 Ed Clancy (GB) Great Britain 4.29
20 Ryan Cox (SA) South Africa 4.56
23 Kristian House (GB) 5.58
27 Ben Greenwood (GB) 6.36
28 Mark Walters (Can) Navigators 7.05


1 David George (SA) South Africa 16.10.33
2 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Selle Italia 1.57
3 Bellotti 2.19
4 Pedraza
5 Grajales 2.20
6 Sharman 4.20
7 Elias 4.40
8 Serpa 4.44
9 Laurent Lefvre (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 4.54
10 Benoit Poilvet (Fra) Crdit Agricole 5.42

11 Raisin 7.49
13 Walters 8.51
14 Cox 9.12
15 McCann 9.52
16 Lill 10.06
19 Clancy 13.55
23 House 17.33
29 Greenwood 22.21

– Comunitat Valenciana riders dominated the third stage of the Majorca Challenge, on which three of their riders finished in the first four. The stage included the climbs of Soller, Puig Mayor and finished on the El Mirador summit, where David Bernabeu finished just ahead of team-mate Julian Sanchez, with Paolo Bettini, who was very prominent on the climb, in third place another couple of seconds back. In the absence of the winner of the first two stages, Isaac Galvez, who is due to start the Tour of the Med on Wednesday, Bernabeu also took over the leader’s jersey.

Stage 3, Pollenca-El Mirador des Colomer

1 David Bernabeu (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 149.6km in 3.47.24 (39.49kph)
2 Julian Sanchez (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 0.01
3 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step 0.03
4 David Mu¤oz (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana
5 Koos Moerenhout (Hol) Phonak
6 Frank Schleck (Lux) CSC
7 Jon Bru (Spa) Kaiku 0.07
8 Antonio Colom (Spa) Illes Balears
9 Rodrigo Garcia (Spa) Kaiku 0.09
10 Dario Cioni (Ita) Liquigas 0.13



1 David Bernabeu (Spa) Comunitat Valenciana 9.42.34
2 Sanchez 0.01
3 Bettini 0.03
4 Mu¤oz
5 Moerenhout
6 Schleck
7 Colom 0.07
8 Garcia 0.09
9 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile 0.15
10 Joseba Albizu (Spa) Euskaltel 0.18