Slipstream announces `08 roster

Ex-pro Jonathan Vaughters seeing long-term planning paying off.


Slipstream Sports LLC and its chief venture, the Slipstream/Chipotle Professional Cycling Team, unveiled its 2008 team roster, announced that it has signed Chipotle Mexican Grill as a co-title sponsor, and plans for a world-wide competition to design the 2008 team jersey. Slipstream continues to seek a primary title sponsor for the team.


The 2008 Team Slipstream/Chipotle roster includes: David Millar, Christophe Laurent, Julian Dean, David Zabriskie , Christian Vande Velde, Magnus Backstedt, Tyler Farrar, Maartijn Maaskant, Tom Danielson, Dan Martin, Chris Sutton, Trent Lowe, Ryder Hesjedal, Danny Pate, Pat McCarty, Will Frischkorn, Jason Donald, Lucas Euser, Tom Peterson, Mike Friedman, Huub Duyn, Kilian Patour, Timmy Duggan and Steven Cozza.

Slipstream Sports, in partnership with the Agency for Cycling Ethics (ACE), created an aggressive anti-doping program in 2007. All athletes on the 2008 Slipstream/Chipotle Team will voluntarily participate in this program and will be tested over 1,200 times during the 2008 season. This is more than 20 times the number of tests that most professional cyclists are subject to annually through the sports’ governing body, Union Cycliste International (UCI), according to Slipstream management.

“We are poised for an outstanding year and are excited to have grown our relationship with Chipotle,” said Doug Ellis, Slipstream Sports’ Chairman and majority owner. “This is hands-down the strongest group of riders we have ever had. We are continuing to compete at higher levels and in 2008, you will see us at bigger races – hopefully the biggest.”


© BikeRadar 2007