Tour de France teams finalised for 2011

Wildcards favour French teams

The Europcar team is one of four French teams awarded wildcard status at this year's Tour de France

The four wildcard invitations for this year’s  Tour de France have been reserved for French teams, race organisers Amaury  Sports Organisation (ASO) announced on Thursday.


French teams Cofidis, Europcar, Francaise Des Jeux and Saur-Sojasun have  been given the nod ahead of the Italian Geox outfit of Russian Denis Menchov,  third in last year’s Tour de France, and 2008 winner Carlos Sastre of Spain –  meaning those racers will miss out.

Despite having heavyweights Menchov and Sastre in their ranks, Geox are in  the second division of cycling’s international hierarchy, as are the four  French teams selected.

In total 22 teams will compete in this year’s race which gets underway in  the Vendee in western France on July 2.

Europcar and Movistar are new sponsors of already established teams with  three new teams – Saur-Sojasun, Dutch outfit Vacansoleil and the Luxembourg  Leopard team of brothers Andy and Frank Schleck and Switzerland’s Fabian  Cancellara.

Andy Schleck believes his new team can power him to a first Tour de France  triumph after two successive, heartbreaking runner-up finishes to Spain’s  Alberto Contador.

22 Tour de France teams

France (5): AG2R-La Mondiale (Roche), Cofidis (Moncoutie), Europcar  (Voeckler), FDJ (Fedrigo), Saur-Sojasun (Coppel)

United States (3): Garmin (Hushovd, Farrar), RadioShack (Brajkovic,  Leipheimer), HTC (Cavendish, Goss)

Belgium (2): Omega Pharma (Gilbert, Van den Broeck), Quick Step (Boonen,  Chavanel)

Spain (2): Euskaltel (S. Sanchez), Movistar (Tondo, Soler)

Italy (2): Lampre (Petacchi, Cunego), Liquigas (Basso, Nibali)

Netherlands (2): Rabobank (Gesink, Freire), Vacansoleil (Ricco, R. Feillu))

Denmark (1): Saxo Bank (Contador, Porte)

Britain (1): Sky (Wiggins, Boasson Hagen)

Kazakhstan (1): Astana (Kreuziger, Vinokourov)

Luxembourg (1): Leopard (A. and F. Schleck, Cancellara)

Russia (1): Katusha (Pozzato, Rodriguez)

Switzerland (1): BMC (Evans, Hincapie)


© AFP 2011