Tour de Suisse 2: Zabel takes photo finish; Cancellara leads

ilram's Erik Zabel spoiled Lampre-Fondital's Daniele Bennati's plans to take over the lead, as Zabe


ilram’s Erik Zabel spoiled Lampre-Fondital’s Daniele Bennati’s plans to take over the lead, as Zabe

PIC: Erik Zabel – Team Milram (Tim DeWaele) Tour de Suisse leader Fabian Cancellara (Team CSC) showed he can sprint as well as time trial by placing a close third in today’s stage 2, won by German Erik Zabel (Milram) in Lucerne. Zabel beat Italian Daniele Bennati (Lampre-Fondital) in a photo finish to snag victory. Cancellara retains the overall lead going into Monday’s stage 3, the longest of the race. At 228.7km from Brunnen to Nauders in Austria, the riders will tackle two significant climbs, the Col de la Fluela (2,383 meters) and the Cote de Norbertshohe (1,406m). “I’m very happy to win,” Zabel said. “Today was a difficult day for the sprinters because of the third category mountain near the end. I was nearly dropped there but with the last of my strength, I was able to reach the top with the main bunch. The descent was twisting and very fast so that was tough too. “Ballan and Ongarato were setting the pace coming up to the finish,” the 36-year-old veteran added. “I could hear a crash behind but it didn’t affect us. There was a slight rise to the line and also a slight crosswind, and both of these helped me. The photo finish was very tight but I made it.” Results 1 Erik Zabel (Ger, Milram) 4:04:56 2 Daniele Bennati (Ita, Lampre-Fondital) 3 Fabian Cancellara (Swi, Team CSC) 4 Stuart O’Grady (Aus,Team CSC) 5 Antonio Fischer Murilo (Bra, Liquigas) 6 Robbie McEwen (Aus, Predictor-Lotto) 7 William Bonnet (Fra, Crdit Agricole) 8 Marcus Burghardt (Ger, T-Mobile) 9 Alberto Ongarato (Ita, Milram) 10 Patrick Calcagni (Swi, Liquigas) General classification after stage 2 1 Fabian Cancellara (Swi, Team CSC) 4:09:10 2 Daniele Bennati (Ita, Lampre-fondital) 00:00:07 3 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 00:00:15 4 William Bonnet (Fra, Credit Agricole) 00:00:16 5 Stuart O’Grady (Aus, Team CSC) 6 Vladimr Gusev (Rus, Discovery Channel) 7 Martin Elmiger (Swi, Ag2r Prevoyance) 00:00:17 8 Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra, Francaise des Jeux) 00:00:18 9 Stefan Schumacher (Ger, Gerolsteiner) 10 Erik Zabel (Ger, Milram)