Tour de Suisse 8: Unibet wins one; Efimkin holds yellow

Colombian Rigoberto Uran ( won the eighth stage of Tour de Suisse today, jumping away in the final kilometer to take his first ProTour win. The Russian Vladimir Efimkin (Caisse d'Epargne) keeps the lead going into the final stage Sunday.

Rigoberto Uran

The Colombian Rigoberto Uran ( won the eighth stage of Tour de Suisse today, jumping away in the final kilometer to take his first ProTour win. The Italian Christian Moreni (Cofidis) finished second, two seconds behind. Andreas Klöden (Astana) was third. The Russian Vladimir Efimkin (Caisse d’Epargne) keeps the lead.


“I attacked at 800 metres from the uphill finish line,” Uran said. “I felt really strong and kept on the pace perfectly. This is a fabulous victory and I’m very satisfied with it!” leads the overall team classification going into the final stage Sunday.

“This is brilliant”, said’s director, Jacques Hanegraaf. “This victory and our collective team performance this week, show we deserve our ProTour spot. This is exactly what our team needed.”

The 20-year-old Unibet rider made his move just 500 meters from the finish to complete the rolling 152.5-kilometer stage from Innertkirchen to Schwarzsee in 3:28:51. The peloton, led by Moreni, was two seconds behind.

A group of 11 riders broke away after 73 kilometers at Oberstocken, and slowly built a gap of 2:50 with 50 kilometers to go.

The lead group split in two on the fourth-category climb up the Weissenstein, before Spain’s Carlos Sastre (Team CSC) took off, reaching the summit alone. But the CSC rider was swept up by the peloton in the last five kilometers, and everyone made the final climb up the final third-category ascent to Schwarzsee together.

As Lampre ramped up Daniele Bennati for a sprint finish, Uran made his unexpected move, leaving the sprinters the crumbs in his wake.

The 2007 Tour de Suisse ends Sunday as it began last weekend, with a 34-kilometer time trial, this time in Bern.

Efimkin holds the overall lead with a time of 29:24:01. Five other riders are within a minute, including Kim Kirchen of Luxembourg, who sits 24 seconds back and Russia’s Vladimir Karpets, 30 seconds behind.

1 Rigoberto Uran (Col, 3:28:51 (43.8 km/h)
2 Cristian Moreni (Ita, Cofidis) 00:00:02
3 Andreas Klöden (Ger, Astana)
4 Stefan Schumacher (Ger, Gerolsteiner)
5 Gerrit Glomser (Aut, Volksbank)
6 Vladimir Karpets (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne)
7 Damiano Cunego (Ita, Lampre-Fondital)
8 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa, Bouygues Telecom)
9 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne)
10 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe, Française Des Jeux)
11 Stijn Devolder (Bel, Discovery Channel)
12 William Bonnet (Fra, Credit Agricole)
13 Kim Kirchen (Lux, T-Mobile)
14 Karsten Kroon (Ned, Team CSC)
15 Sébastien Hinault (Fra, Credit Agricole)


Overall classification after stage 8
1 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne) 29:24:01
2 Kim Kirchen (Lux, T-Mobile) 00:00:24
3 Vladimir Karpets (Rus, Caisse d’Epargne) 00:00:30
4 Matteo Carrara (Ita, 00:00:31
5 Frank Schleck (Lux, Team CSC) 00:00:33
6 Damiano Cunego (Ita, Lampre-Fondital) 00:00:57
7 Stijn Devolder (Bel, Discovery Channel) 00:02:02
8 Gilberto Simoni (Ita, Saunier Duval – Prodir) 00:02:03
9 Gerrit Glomser (Aut, Volksbank) 00:02:04
10 José Angel Gomez Marchante (Spa, Saunier Duval – Prodir) 00:02:06
11 Rigoberto Uran (Col, 00:02:30
12 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa, Caisse d’Epargne) 00:03:53
13 Hubert Dupont (Fra, Ag2r Prevoyance) 00:03:54
14 Andreas Klöden (Ger, Astana) 00:04:35
15 Gustav Erik Larsson (Swe, 00:05:30