Tour of Ireland confirms team line-up

August 27 race begins in Dublin

The reborn Tour of Ireland was a success in 2007.

Organisers of the Tour of Ireland have announced the addition of CSF Group Navigare, and Joker-Bianchi, joining Garmin-Chipotle, Team Columbia and 11 other teams for the 900km race that begins in Dublin August 27.


“We’ve chosen a course that we believe provides a platform where victory could come from the climbers, roulers or even the sprinters,” race organiser Alan Rushton said. “Everyday will be different right from the start when the race leaves Dublin and heads into Wicklow on the way to Waterford. We might even see a race where the overall winner only emerges from the dramatic last stage when the peloton arrives in Cork on Sunday.”

The race starts in the Docklands area of Dublin on Wednesday August 27 when 112 riders head out on a route across 12 counties toward the final destination of the City of Cork. The route embraces key towns and cities as well as iconic mountain passes and splendid Irish scenery.

2008 Tour of Ireland

Stage 1: Dublin to Waterford, 192km – Wednesday August 27

Stage 2: Thurles to Loughrea, 158km – Thursday August 28

Stage 3: Ballinrobe – Galway, 201km – Friday August 29

Stage 4: Limerick to Dingle, 186km – Saturday August 30

Stage 5: Killarney to Cork, 155km – Sunday August 31


For race information, visit