Track racer Chris Hoy gets knighthood

Several British cyclists honoured by Queen

Gold medalist Chris Hoy (R) of Great Britain looks on with Silver medalist Jason Kenny (L) of Great Britain after the Men's Sprint Finals in the track cycling event at the Laoshan Velodrome on Day 11 of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games on August 19, 2008 in Beijing, China.

British cyclist Chris Hoy has been awarded knighthood on the 2009 New Year Honours List by the Queen of the United Kingdom. The Scotsman’s honour tops a list of awards handed to the British cycling team, which took an impressive medal haul at this year’s Olympic Games in Beijing, China.


The Edinburgh track rider won three gold medals in Beijing, becoming Scotland’s most successful Olympian, the first Briton in 100 years to secure a hat-trick of gold medals in a single Olympic Games, and the most successful Olympic male cyclist of all time.

“It’s incredible and I’m absolutely delighted,” said Hoy. “I still can’t quite believe it to be honest. To be given a Knighthood is an enormous honour and it means so much to me and also to my family. I was stunned when I first found out and the news is still sinking in. I’m not sure if I will ever get used to people calling me Sir Chris!

“2008 has been a phenomenal year for British sport and cycling in particular, and it’s good to see so many people in the sport being recognised for all their hard work and achievements,” he added. “This is an amazing way to start the New Year and a tremendous boost for everyone.”

Hoy’s mother Carol has also been honoured with a MBE in the New Year honours list, for her contribution to healthcare. The pair join Hoy’s grandmother Isa Reid on the list of family receiving honours from the Queen, with Reid made an MBE for her Multiple Sclerosis Society work in 1989.

British Cycling performance director David Brailsford said he was proud to have his riders honoured by the Queen. Brailsford’s efforts were also recognised, with him joining double gold medallist Bradley Wiggins as a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

“I’m so proud of what everyone in the GB Team has achieved and it is such a privilege to be honoured in this way. 2009 marks 50 years since British Cycling was established and this is a remarkable way to start the organisation’s Golden Anniversary year,” said Brailsford.

Olympians: Sir Chris Hoy (KBE), Bradley Wiggins (CBE), Victoria Pendleton (MBE), Rebecca Romero (MBE), Jason Kenny (MBE), Jamie Staff (MBE), Ed Clancy (MBE), Paul Manning (MBE), Nicole Cooke (MBE) and Geraint Thomas (MBE).

Paralympians: Darren Kenny (OBE), Sarah Storey (OBE), Aileen McGlynn (OBE), Jody Cundy (MBE), Barney Storey (MBE), David Stone (MBE), Anthony Kappes (MBE), Mark Bristow (MBE) and Simon Richardson (MBE). 


Performance Director: David Brailsford (CBE).