Trebon, Powers racing ‘cross World’s for USA

Brian Matter and Matt Shriver added by USA Cycling

Ryan Trebon won the US men's elite national cyclo-crosc championships in Kansas City, Kansas in December, 2008.

Five American cyclo-cross racers were nominated to represent their country in the Elite Men’s category at the at the 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships on Feb. 1 in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.


Ryan Trebon, Tim Johnson and Jeremy Powers all earned automatic nominations to the team as the top three Americans in the UCI rankings.

Trebon (20th) and Powers (27th) will head to the Netherlands to contest the event. Johnson, ranked 22nd in the world, has declined his nomination and will not compete.

In addition to the automatic selections, USA Cycling also approved two discretionary picks to the squad: Brian Matter and Matt Shriver. Both athletes were selected based on promising performances in international events this season.

2009 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships

Hoogerheide, Netherlands; January 31-February 1

U.S. Team

Elite Men: Ryan Trebon, Tim Johnson*, Jeremy Powers, Brian Matter, Matt Shriver,

*declined invitation – will not compete

Elite Women: Katie Compton, Georgia Gould, Rachel Lloyd, Laura Van Gilder, Sue Butler.

U23 Men: Nick Weighall, Nicholas Keough, Daniel Summerhill, Bjorn Selander, Will Dugan.


Junior Men: Luke Keough, Zach McDonald, Gavin Mannion, Eric Emsky, Chris Wallace.