UK cyclo-cross: Junior ace Webster bests seniors in Notts

Columbia's Hammond in weekend action too


Junior ace Oliver Webster took the latest round of the Notts and Derby League by storm, crossing the line 24 seconds ahead of his nearest rival to win the senior race in emphatic style.


Webster, the Yorkshire-based youngster who rides for Ilkley shop JD Cycles, covered the seven icy laps of a testing circuit at Trent Meadows Park in 50min 19sec to take the win ahead of many established stars.

Second spot went to League regular Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC), who was 24 seconds down on his rival and just held off Zepnat Racing Team rival James Furniss by five seconds.

Fourth spot – and first veteran – was Furniss’s team-mate John Shaw, a minute behind Webster, while RAF CC’s Dan Lewis was just 13 seconds behind.

The winner of the last round, Heanor Clarion senior Rob Parkin struggled with the course at Trent Meadows in Long Eaton, and finished almost two minutes off the pace in eighth spot.

Jebb first in Yorkshire

* Twenty four hours after his Notts and Derby League win, Webster came back down to earth with a bump in the Yorkshire Points Series, where he finished fifth among a top quality field for the event at Myrtle Park in Bingley, West Yorkshire.

Wheelbase ace Rob Jebb took victory by more than a minute from veteran Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo), while promising young GB international Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax was third, another minute off the pace.

Chalmers take Western round seven

* Scoring his third victory in the league, Scott Chalmers (John’s Bikes) took a comfortable victory in the seventh round of the Western Cyclo-Cross League at Gloucester Boating Lake on Sunday.

The John’s Bikes rider crossed the line 1min 17sec ahead of his nearest rival, and added to his victories in the fifth and third rounds of the series to boost his challenge for the overall.

Round six winner Craig Denning (Dream CC) was pushed out into second spot, while his team-mate Simon Burgess was third, another 30 seconds off the pace. It was the fifth time in the league this year that Burgess has been third.

Chalmers flew away from his rivals right from the start, and while Denning and Burgess were nearly always in their final positions, VC St Raphael’s Jason Streather looked set to challenge for a top-three finish until a puncture with around 40 minutes gone put paid to his chances, and he settled for fourth spot – just lapped by Chalmers.

Hammond stops Wyre Forest sweep in Solihull

Wyre Forest CRC had four riders in the top five placings of the eighth round of the West Midlands League at Solihull on Sunday – but they were denied a victory by visiting Team Columbia professional Roger Hammond.

Lister two minutes ahead in Lincs

Team Thule rider Rick Lister won the ninth round of the Lincolnshire League at a snowy Quibell Park in Scunthorpe, crossing the line more than two minutes ahead of rival Gareth Whittall of Beauvale CC.

Cox wins Plymouth after race-long battle rider Vin Cox won the latest round of the South West League at Newnham Park in Plymouth, crossing the line 26 seconds ahead of second-placed Andy Shaw (MI Racing).


It had been nip and tuck for much of the race until the final lap, where Shaw was baulked by a back-marker, giving Cox the vital lead heading for the line.


Notts and Derbys Cyclo-Cross League
Trent Meadows, Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire
1 Oliver Webster (JD Cycles) 0:50:19
2 Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC) 0:00:24
3 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) 0:00:29
4 John Shaw (Zepnat RT) 0:01:01
5 Dan Lewis (RAF CC) 0:01:14
6 Chris Green (Matlock CC) 0:01:21
7 Philip Roach (Rugby Velo) 0:01:33
8 Rob Parkin (Heanor Clarion) 0:01:52
9 Will Verney (Felt Racing) 0:01:56
10 Rom Wimble (Zepnat RT) 0:01:56
1 Oliver Webster (JD Cycles)
1 John Shaw (Zepnat RT)
1 Philip Roach (Rugby Velo)
1 Bob Wood-Anderson (unattached)
1 Vic Barnett (Welland Valley CC)
1 Martine Verney (MI Racing)
1 Sam Lowe (Go Sports Spex) 0:25:01
2 John Lomas (Matlock CC) 0:02:39
3 Keiron Tennyson (Heanor Clarion) 0:03:15
4 Lucy Garner (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:03:27
5 Tom Young (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:03:45
6 Joe Kirkham (VC Long Eaton) 1 lap
1 Lucy Garner (Leicester Off-Road Club)
1 Keiron Tennyson
Under-14 girls
1 Saskia Hook (South Pennine RC)
1 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) 0:15:36
2 Charlotte Broughton (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:00:01
3 William Gascoyne (Heanor Clarion) 0:00:46
1 Charlotte Broughton (Leicester Off-Road Club)
1 Scott Hookway (Sherwood CC)
Western Cyclo-Cross League
Gloucester Boating Lake
1 Scott Chalmers (John’s Bikes RT) 0:56:18
2 Craig Denning (Dream CC) 0:01:17
3 Simon Burgess (Dream CC) 0:01:47
4 Jason Streather (VC St Raphael) 1 lap
5 Chas Thursford (Dream CC) 1 lap
6 Jamie Pembroke (unattached) 1 lap
7 Ian Dawes (Dream CC) 1 lap
8 Andy Sexton (Planet X) 1 lap
9 Andy Melton (Chippenham Wheelers) 1 lap
10 Ned Potter (Climb On Bikes) 2 laps
1 Andy Melton
1 Victoria Rawlinson (unattached)
Youth, 4 laps
1 Eric Brook (unattached) 0:21:06
2 Dan Elkerton (unattached) 0:02:43
3 Harry Meyer (unattached) 1 lap
1 Finlay Hardie (unattached)
North West Cyclo-Cross League
Wavertree, Merseyside, Round nine
1 Matt Denby (Zepnat RT) 1:02:45
2 Roy Hunt (Colnago) 0:01:15
3 Jonathan Watson (Zepnat RT) 0:03:45
4 Dave Brailsford (Horwich CC) 1 lap
5 Martin Woffindin (SportCity Velo) 1 lap
6 Martin Kitchin (Horwich CC) 1 lap
7 Lewis Burke (Macclesfield Wheelers) 1 lap
8 Kevin Walford (Macclesfield Wheelers) 1 lap
9 Adam Palmer (Horwich CC) 2 laps
10 Greg McNally (GMFS) 2 laps
1 Matt Denby (Zepnat RT)
1 Martin Woffindin (SportCity Velo)
1 Carolyn Wright (Horwich CC)
West Midlands Cyclo-Cross League
Elmdon Park, Solihull, round eight
1 Roger Hammond (Team Columbia) 0:52:05
2 Paul Prince (Wyre Forest CRC)
3 Phil Blacker (Wyre Forest CRC)
4 Jack Kirk (Wyre Forest CRC)
5 Tom Payton (Wyre Forest CRC)
6 Robert Burns (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
7 Philip Roach (Rugby Velo)
8 Mark Leyland (Wyre Forest CRC)
9 Carl Dyson (Cycling
10 Craig Ansell (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
1 Philip Roach.
Lincolnshire Cyclo-Cross League
Quibell Park, Scunthorpe, round nine
1 Rick Lister (Team Thule) 0:50:06
2 Gareth Whittall (Beauvale CC) 0:02:02
3 James Shaw (VC Lincoln) 0:02:21
4 Andy Barnard (Time RT) 0:02:34
5 Charlie Porter (Boston Wheelers) 0:02:41
6 John Wilkinson (Dinnington RC) 0:02:47
7 Mark Preston (VC Lincoln) 0:02:59
8 Julian Grommett (Cottingham Coureurs) 0:03:58
9 Steve Poole (Zepnat RT) 0:04:07
10 Aaron Tuplin (Cherry Valley RT) 0:04:52
1 Andy Barnard (Time RT)
1 Dan Green (VC Lincoln)
1 Luke Panton (VC Lincoln) 0:27:31
2 Jordan Gell (VC Lincoln) 0:01:54
3 Adam Desmit (VC Lincoln) 0:04:17
1 Robyn Bolland (Liverpool Mercury)
1 Jake Poole (VC Lincoln)
South West Cyclo-Cross League
Newnham Park, Plymouth, round six
1 Vin Cox ( 1:3:42
2 Andy Shaw (MI Racing) 0:00:26
3 Tim Carpenter ( 0:02:26
4 Steve Davies (CCSW)
5 Roy Wyle-Smith (
6 Jay Horton (Team Certini)
7 Andy Roberts (Evans Cycles)
8 Gary Pike (Alltrax)
9 John Peters (CS South Hams)
10 Nick Percival (Guerciotti)
1 Andy Shaw (MI Racing)
1 Sam Sparks (unattached)
1 Maddie Horton (Team Certini)
1 Dan Nash (St Austell Wheelers)
2 Mark Percival (CCSW)
3 Sam Acland (unattached)
1 Laura Clode (Trigon-JJ Coach)
1 Will Kelly (Mid-Devon CC)