UK Cyclo-cross: Oli Beckingsale makes rare appearance in Bristol race

David Nichols continues winning run in Norfolk

UK Cyclo-cross

Great Britain international mountain bike ace Oli Beckingsale made a rare appearance in a cyclo-cross event on Sunday, winning the Severn Road Club event at ConhamRiverPark near his home town of Bristol.


The 32-year-old former Commonwealth Games silver medallist, riding for Giant, proved a comfortable winner of the event, which was round ten of the Western League.

He clocked 57min 15sec to beat John’s Bikes RT rider Scott Chalmers into second by 42 seconds, while Dream CC’s Craig Denning was third, another three minutes off the pace.

For Chalmers, second spot in the event was the sixth time he has been on the podium in the ten rounds of the league so far, and with three victories under his belt he is still looking good for the overall title despite Beckingsale’s victory.

David Nichols continues winning run in Norfolk

Meanwhile, junior David Nichols continued his superb form with victory in the latest round of the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League at Ditchingham, Norfolk, on Sunday.

Glendene CC rider Nichols won the event by the narrowest of margins, pipping senior rival Ben Roach (Wyre Forest CC) by inches, while Lotto Olympia’s Shaun Aldous had to settle for third place, ten seconds back.

The VC Baracchi event attracted more than 100 riders to the course, and while Nichols was top junior Rugby Velo rider Philip Roach was fastest in the veterans event.

He won that race by 35 seconds from IpswichBC’s Julian Parker, while Geoff Bores was top over-50, 3:15 behind, and the consistent Abbie Thorrington (53-12 Multisports) was best woman.

Keith Murray victorious in South Yorkshire

In South Yorkshire, Keith Murray won the Rossington Christmas Cross at the village near Doncaster, beating Lincolnshire League regular Scott Weekly of VC Lincoln by 1min 44sec.

Bishop Auckland-based Murray (Hope Factory Racing) was in fine form, and he will be aiming to keep it ticking over ahead of the rearranged North of England Championships on January 3 and the National Championships the following week.

Weekly settled for second spot, and held it comfortably enough with third-placed Gareth Whittall (Beauvale CC) being more than a minute further off the pace.

Lee Williams stays on top in Cardiff

Lee Williams displayed his current good form in the Welsh Cyclo-Cross League with victory in the final round at Maindy Stadium, Cardiff.

He pipped Cwmcarn Paragon RC rival Anthony O’Boyle by three seconds, while Andrew Baum (Gateway RT) was third, 4:13 off the pace.

Chris Moores sprints to a win in London

Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC) sprinted to victory in the latest round of the Imperial RT Winter Road Race Series at the Hillingdon circuit in London, holding off series leader Jerone Walters to strengthen his own bid for the prestigious title.

Moores is now third in the table, while Sigma Sport RT rider Walters strengthened his lead with second spot, with Harry Bulstrode (Thames Velo), second overall, crossed the line fourth to fall another 30 points behind his rival.



Western Cyclo-Cross League (Conham River Park, Bristol, round ten)
1 Oli Beckingsale (Giant) 57min 15sec
2 Scott Chalmers (John’s Bikes RT) at 42sec
3 Craig Denning (Dream CC) at 3:52
4 Steve Davies (Guercictti) at 4:22
5 John Ross (69er Collective)
6 David Attewell (John’s Bikes)
7 Chas Thursfield (Dream CC)
8 Kevin Blann (Team Rose Blann)
9 Richard Millar (Dream CC)
10 Rich Sanders (LVIS/Performance Cycles)
Veterans: Steve Davies
Women: Nina Davies (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)
1 Dafydd Davies (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)
2 Eric Brook (Dream CC)
3 Josh Matthews (unattached)
1 Henry Rawlinson (unattached)
2 Wilf Brunt (unattached)
3 Sebi Turvey (Climb On Bikes)
Girls: Matilda Rawlinson (unattached)
Eastern Cyclo-Cross League (Ditchingham, Norfolk)
1 David Nichols (Glendene CC) 56min 1sec
2 Ben Roach (Wyre Forest CRC) same time
3 Shaun Aldous (Lotto Olympia) at 10sec
4 Nathan Miller (Lotto Olympia) at 1:48
5 Luke Newby (Diss & District CC) at 3:16
6 Robert Hunt (API Metrow) at 3:34
7 Matthew Cook (Mildenhall CC) at 3:41
8 Martin Carter (unattached) at 3:46
9 Stuart Chatting (Amis Velo RT) at 4:29
10 Tom Castle (Glendene CC) at 5:09
Juniors: David Nichols
1 Phillip Roach (Rugby Velo) 41min 23sec
2 Julian Parker (Ipswich BC) at 35sec
3 Clive Ling (Diss & District CC) at 1:09
Over-50s: Geoff Bores (Ford CC)
Women: Abbie Thorrington (53-12 Multisports)
1 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) 32min 51sec
2 Lewis Parker (Ipswich BC) at 3:15
3 Sam Bores (Lee Valley YCC) at 3:46
4 Joshua Green (Glendene CC) at 4:07
5 Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) at 4:53
6 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) at 5:29
Girls: Jenny Hardwicke (Plomesgate CC)
Under-14s: Alan Trolove
Under-14 girls: Phoebe Aubugeau-Williams (Ipswich BC)
1 Archie Wishart (Welwyn Wheelers) 13min 37sec
2 Callum Makie (Lee Valley YCC) at 33sec
3 James Jackson (Colchester Rovers CC) at 54sec
Under-10s: Matthew Baker (unattached)
Lincolnshire Cyclo-Cross League (Rossington, South Yorkshire)
1 Keith Murray (Hope Factory Racing) 52min 19sec
2 Scott Weekly (VC Lincoln) at 1:44
3 Gareth Whittall (Beauvale CC) at 2:49
4 John Wilkinson (Dinnington RC) at 3:01
5 Steve Poole ( at 3:38
6 Matt Fenton (Cottingham Coureurs) same time
7 Luke Allen (Dinnington RC) at 3:50
8 Steve Parker (Heanor Clarion) at 4:20
9 Duncan Walmsley ( at 4:24
10 Andy Barnard (Fat Birds CC) at 5:03
Veterans: John Wilkinson
Over-50s: Roger Broughton (Alford Wheelers)
Juniors: Dan Green (VC Lincoln)
1 Ben Green (VC Lincoln) 29min 32sec
2 Luke Panton (VC Lincoln) at 2:23
3 Jordan Gell (VC Lincoln) at 3:18
Under-14s: Jordan Gell
1 Jake Poole (VC Lincoln) 12min 10sec
2 Freddie Payne (VC Lincoln) at 1 lap
3 Elliot Dudley (Sherwood Pines)
Girls: Abigail Armstrong (VC Lincoln)
Imperial RT Winter Road Race Series (Round three, Hillingdon, London)
1 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
2 Jerone Walters (Sigma Sport RT)
3 Marcus Brueton (Norwood Paragon CC)
4 Harry Bulstrode (Thames Velo)
5 Rob Fletcher (Anders Electronics)
6 Joshua Worrall (Twickenham CC)
7 Nigel Atkins (Twickenham CC)
8 Edward Summerwell (Team Quest)
9 Matthew Carden (Team Quest)
10 Al Murison (Glendene CC)
Juniors: Al Murison
Supporting Race (fourth cat)
1 James Stuart (Redhill CC)
2 Michael Corke (London Dynamo)
3 Roger Fowkes (Hillingdon Triathletes)
4 Andrew Colsell (High Wycombe CC)
5 Gavin Mitchell (Twickenham CC)
6 Mark Ottoway (VC Meudon)
Juniors: Gavin Mitchell