UK Cyclo-Cross: Rob Jebb breaks Three Peaks record

Full roundup for September 28

Cyclo-cross ace Rob Jebb secured a record seventh victory in the ThreePeaks event that took place in North Yorkshire on Sunday. He also broke the course record, rounding off a superb day for the Team Wheelbase rider from Cumbria.


It’s been two years since Jebb equalled Tim Gould’s record of six victories in the difficult 61km-long event, which includes the climbs of Ingleborough, Whernside and Pen-y-Ghent. Last year’s event was cancelled as a precaution because of a foot and mouth disease scare.

But, 24 months since his last ThreePeaks win, Jebb was more determined than ever to make the record his own – something he did comfortably.

“It was a great day, as ever,” he said. “I couldn’t have wished for better. I didn’t have a puncture and I didn’t have any problems. It couldn’t have gone better.”

“I went really hard over Ingleborough and got a gap on Nick Craig, who was on my wheel. I didn’t kill myself on the descents, but I knew I had a chance at the record, so I kept the pressure on.”

Jebb clocked in at 2hr 52min 22sec, beating his own 2003 record by 42 seconds and finishing more than six minutes ahead of Nick Craig (Scott UK). Veteran Andy Peace (Science in Sport) came third.

“I was a bit surprised at the gap I got on Nick because I don’t ever underestimate him, and there were plenty of other quality riders in the field,” said Jebb. “But I’m glad to get the win – now I can concentrate on my other targets for the year, like the National Trophy Series and the National Championships.”

Note: photos of the Three Peaks Cyclo-cross are for sale at

Shaun Aldous takes Eastern Cyclo-Cross third round win

Second in the first two rounds, Shaun Aldous (Lotto Olympia) finally tasted victory in the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League with a win at the KnightsTemplarSchool in Baldock, Hertfordshire.

Aldous clocked 50min 33sec for the nine laps, crossing the line 59 seconds ahead of rival Nathan Miller (53-12 Multisports). Promising junior David Nichols (Glendene CC) finished third, a further 45 seconds off the pace.

Fletcher snatches Notts and Derby round from Thwaites

It was a much closer finish in the latest round of the Notts and Derby League at Thornbridge in Derbyshire, where Science in Sport-Trek rider David Fletcher just held off the challenge of Crosstrax rival Scott Thwaites.

Fletcher pipped his Yorkshire rival by five seconds after attacking on the final lap. Just behind the pair was MI Racing veteran Geoff Giddings, who finished 12 seconds behind Fletcher, while Matlock CC’s Lee Shunburne was fourth, crossing the line three seconds behind Giddings.


Williams claims first round of Wessex League

National Trophy contender Lee Williams made a successful trip to LydiardPark in Swindon on Sunday. The Abergavenny CC rider won the opening round of the Wessex League by around two minutes, finishing ahead of Ian Legg (Owen Cycles).


Three Peaks Cyclo-Cross (Helwith Bridge, North Yorkshire, 61km):
Provisional result:
1 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase-Gore) 2:52:22
2 Nick Craig (Scott UK) 0:08:16
3 Andy Peace (Science in Sport) 0:08:37
4 Lewis Craven (Wheelbase) 0:19:23
5 Stephen Bottomley (Crosstrax) 0:19:25
6 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) 0:22:20
7 Stuart Reid (Wheelbase) 0:22:21
8 Geoff Beetham (Retro Bikes) 0:23:32
9 Neil Crampton (Crosstrax) 0:23:49
10 Stuart Bowers (Scott UK) 0:28:03
1 Heather Dawe (JD Cycles) 3:50:25
2 Sara Symington (unattached) 0:12:54
3 Anja McDonald (Glasgow MBC) 0:17:26
1 Andy Peace (Science in Sport) 3:08:59
2 Stephen Bottomley (Crosstrax) 0:02:48
3 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) 0:05:43
1 Robert Watson (Paul Milnes RT) 3:50:18
Eastern Cyclo-Cross League (Baldock, Hertfordshire, 12 miles):
1 Shaun Aldous (Lotto Olympia) 0:50:33
2 Nathan Miller (53-12 Multisports) 0:00:59
3 David Nichols (Glendene CC) 0:01:44
4 Glenn Stanford (API Metrow) 0:01:56
5 Luke Newby (Diss & District CC) 0:03:07
6 Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton) 0:03:09
7 Andrew Nichols (Chelmer CC) 0:03:34
8 Mark Thomson (St Ives CC) 0:03:35
9 Craig Beech (Lotto Olympia) 0:04:15
10 Julian Parker (Ipswich BC) 0:04:38
Juniors David Nichols
Veterans Gavin Rumbles
Women Rachel Moss (Ford CC)
Notts & Derby Cyclo-Cross League (Thornbridge, Derbyshire, 10 miles):
1 David Fletcher (Science in Sport) 0:52:18
2 Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax) 0:00:05
3 Geoff Giddings (MI Racing) 0:00:12
4 Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC) 0:00:15
5 Matt Denby (Zepnat RT) 0:01:01
6 Ben Eedy (South Pennine RC) 0:01:25
7 Tom Haines (Leicester Police CC) 0:01:28
8 Tom Moses (SSC Cyclesport) 0:01:58
9 John Shaw (Zepnat RT) 0:02:30
10 Chris Green (Matlock CC) 0:03:09
Veterans Geoff Giddings
Juniors Tom Moses
Women Hilary Johnson (Derby Mercury RC)
Wessex Cyclo-Cross League (Lydiard Park, Swindon, 12 miles):
1 Lee Williams (Abergavenny RC) 0:58:00
2 Ian Legg (Owen Cycles) 0:02:00
3 Andy Shaw (MI Racing)
4 Scott Chalmers (John’s Bikes)
5 Sean Williams (Wightlink-Wight Mountain)
6 Mike Warner (Hargroves Cycles)
7 Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC)
8 Mike Groves (Hargroves Cycles)
9 Peter Kench (GWR Team)
10 Malcolm Cross (Hargroves Cycles)
Veterans Andy Shaw
Juniors Matthew Jones (Cwmcarn Paragon RC)
Women Claire Smith (Swindon RC)
Youth Charlie White (DHC)