UK cyclo-cross round-up: Bibby grabs top spot

Exciting racing as riders prepare for National Championships

Billy Joe Whenman won the latest round of the London Cyclo-Cross League

After competing for a spot on the podium in the latest round of the National Trophy, Ian Bibby (Science in Sport-Trek) and Nick Craig (Scott UK) battled for glory once again in the Macclesfield Wheelers Supacross.


The duo, who finished fifth and sixth respectively in the fifth round of the national series in December, resumed their battle over a fast, dry course at the popular Cheshire event.

Bibby edged the victory by just 10 seconds over Craig on Sunday, while Specialized ace Liam Killeen, who won the cross-country mountain bike race at the 2006 Commonwealth Games, took third spot, 21 seconds behind Bibby, as he continued his build-up to the National Cyclo-Cross Championships next weekend. Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman) was fourth, and top junior Dan McLay (Univega) proved his talent with fifth place.

Newby rides to second victory in eastern league

Ian Newby scored his second victory of the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League series when he won the Gateway Greenspaces Cross at Corringham, Essex, on Sunday.

The Diss & District CC rider won by more than two minutes at LangdonHillsCountryPark, with Cambridge University CC’s Andrew Nichol second and team-mate Richard Dunnett third, just inches behind.

Stuart Chatting (Amis Velo) came fourth but he was pushed all the way by top junior Tom Castle (Glendene CC), who held off Lotto Olympia ace Craig Beech for a place in the top five.

Collins dominates in West Midlands

National Trophy Series hopeful Dave Collins maintained his good recent form with victory in the Coventry Road Club Boxing Day cyclo-cross at Kenilworth Common, crossing the line comfortably ahead of his nearest rivals.

The Science in Sport-Trek rider, who is currently fourth in the national series with one round remaining, mastered a cold but dry course and won by a good margin from Lutterworth Cycle Centre rival Carl Sturgeon, while his team-mate Matt Barrett brought up the rear in third spot.

With the National Championships only a week away, Collins looks likely to turn in a strong performance with his form peaking at just the right time, although with the likes of Roger Hammond and Liam Killeen due back from their overseas race programmes to contest the title race, Collins will do well to challenge for a medal.

Nevertheless, he looked smooth and strong as he powered round the Kenilworth course. He lapped all but eight of the field after leading from the start and powering away on the opening lap to leave his rivals scrapping for the minor placings.

Bowers wins in Wessex

Elsewhere on Boxing Day, Hargroves Cycles ace Stuart Bowers proved victorious in the Crabwood Cycling Club event, crossing the line 2min 38sec ahead of nearest rival Scott Forbes (Pedal On).

The event was the eighth round of the Wessex League, and while Bowers looked dominant he is not in line for the overall title, having scored points in just four of the races so far.

Young Billy-Joe Whenman completed the podium for the event at Southampton Sport Centre, 3min 13sec behind Bowers, while only 11 others in a quality field of 67 riders managed to avoid being lapped by the eventual winner.


And 24 hours later Whenman scored victory in the latest round of the London Cyclo-Cross League at Footscray Outdoor Activity Centre in Kent, where he beat Team Corridori’s Chris Ansell to the line in the senior race.


Macclesfield Wheelers Supacross
SouthPark, Macclesfield
1 Ian Bibby (Science in Sport-Trek) 00:56:58
2 Nick Craig (Scott UK) 0:00:10
3 Liam Killeen (Specialized) 0:00:21
4 Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman)
5 Dan McLay (Univega)
6 Nathan Miller (Interbike RT)
7 Geoff Giddings (MI Racing)
8 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo)
9 James Furness (
10 Tom Moses (SSC Cyclesport)
Veterans: Geoff Giddings
Juniors: Dan McLay
Under-23s: Sam Allen
Women: Sue Clarke (Science in Sport)
1 Hugo Robinson (IpswichBC)
2 Luke Grivell-Mellor (Mid-Shopshire Wh)
3 Tom Young (Leicestershire RC)
4 Joe Moses (Bronte Wheelers)
5 Jack Humphreys (Red Rose Olympic)
6 Tom Armstrong (Ribble Valley CRC)
Under-14s: Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos-on-Sea CC)
Under-12s: Charlotte Broughton (Leicester RC)
Under-10s: Soloman Robson (Rhos-on-Sea CC)
Under-8s: Lewis Hartley (RVT)
Eastern Cyclo-Cross League
Corringham, Essex
1 Ian Newby (Diss & District CC) 0:59:57
2 Andrew Nichol (Cambridge Univ CC) 0:02:16
3 Richard Dunnett (Diss & District CC) 0:02:17
4 Stuart Chatting (Amis Velo)
5 Tom Castle (Glendene CC)
6 Craig Beech (Lotto Olympia)
7 Matt Cook (Mildenhall CC)
8 Ben Tinkler (Loughborough Students CC)
9 Phil Kersey (Eagle RC)
10 Ben Paton (Amis Velo)
Juniors: Tom Castle
1 Gary Allen (GA Cycles)
2 Julian Parker (Ipswich BC)
3 Gavin Russell (Luton CC)
Women: Rachel Moss (Ford CC).
1 Hugo Humphreys (Lee Valley YCC)
2 Taylor Johnstone (Team De Ver) – same time
3 Sam Connolly
Girls: Phoebe Aubugeau-Williams (IpswichBC)
Under-12s: Archie Wishart (Welwyn Wheelers)
Under-12 girls: Sophie Holmes (Diss & District CC)
West Midlands Cyclo-Cross League
Kenilworth Common
1 Dave Collins (Science in Sport-Trek)
2 Carl Sturgeon (Lutterworth Cycle Centre)
3 Matt Barrett (Lutterworth Cycle Centre)
4 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport)
5 Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles)
6 Daniel McLay (Univega)
7 Philip Roach (Rugby Velo)
8 Paul Prince (WyreForest CRC)
9 Colin Miller (Coventry RC)
10 Nigel Hay (Pedal Power Loughborough)
Juniors: Daniel McLay
Veterans: Philip Roach
Under-23s: Mark Cotton
Women: Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge CC)
Under-12s: Cameron Biddle (Halesowen A&CC)
Under-10s: Josef Feiven (Halesowen A&CC)
Wessex Cyclo-Cross League
1 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) 0:55:27
2 Scott Forbes (Pedal 0:02:38
3 Bill-Joe Whenman (Sport Beans-Wilier) 0:03:13
4 Jamie Newall (VC Meudon) 0:04:32
5 Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles) 0:05:38
6 Mike Warner (Hargroves Cycles) 0:05:40
7 Mike Groves (Hargroves Cycles) 0:05:51
8 Andy Shaw (MI Racing) 0:06:02
9 Robin Wilmott (GA Cycles) 0:06:31
10 Peter Dibben (Hargroves Cycles) 0:06:50
Veterans: Andy Shaw
Juniors: Peter Dibben
Women: Claire Smith (Swindon RC)
1 Jonathan Dibben (I-team CC) 0:26:03
2 Harvey Lowe (GA Cycles) 0:00:19
3 Luke Cowley (Swindon RC) 0:07:07
1 Robin Gronbach (Oxford City RC) 0:13:13
2 Henry Baugniet 0:02:11
3 Matthew Ashman (Chapel Tri Stars) 1 lap
London Cyclo-Cross League
Footscray, Kent
1 Billy-Joe Whenman (Sport Beans-Wilier)
2 Chris Ansell (Corridori)
3 Stuart Jones (LondonPhoenix)
4 Kevin Knox (Dulwich Paragon CC)
5 Nigel Ling (Citihub)
6 Jamie Newall (VC Meudon)
7 George Brent (Addiscombe CC)
8 Bill Bell (GeminiBC)
9 Mark Field
10 Andy Kay (Sydenham Wheelers)
Juniors: Felix English (Team Corridori)
Veterans: Andy Kay
Women: Corrine Hall (Sydenham Wheelers)
1 Taylor Johnstone (Team De Ver)
2 Hugo Humphreys (Lee Valley YCC)
3 Nicholas Smith (VC Jubilee)
Under-12s: Daniel Tullett (Herne Hill YCC)
Under-10s: Freddie Argent (Herne Hill YCC)