UK cyclo-cross round-up: Dunford snatches series lead

Victory for Lansley in round nine of Wessex League

Adrian Lansley (Pedal On) won round 11 of the Wessex Cyclo-Cross League and Tim Dunford took the series lead

Second spot in a hard-going round on Saturday was enough to move Tim Dunford to the top of the Wessex Cyclo-Cross League table.


Dunford (Hargroves Cycles), who has already won five rounds, was denied a victory at round nine by Pedal On rival Adrian Lansley but now leads the series after overhauling former leader and rival Crispin Doyle.

Despite cold but dry conditions which left the Oxfordshire course soft, Lansley covered the distance in 1hr 6min 24sec, winning by 1:24 from Dunford, while his team-mate Mike Groves was third, another 15 seconds off the pace.

Eedy wins by 16 seconds in Derbyshire

Part of a four-rider group which went clear at the start, Ben Eedy won the latest round of the Notts and Derbys Cyclo-Cross League.

The South Pennine Road Club rider crossed the line in Bolsover, Derbyshire, 16 seconds clear of road racing ace Graham Briggs, the Rapha Condor rider from Doncaster who will be riding for Pinarello-Candi TV next season.

Briggs stuck to Eedy’s wheel for much of the race but could not overhaul his rival. Matlock CC and league regular Lee Shunburne settled for third spot, another 15 seconds behind, while former event winner Rob Parkin (Heanor Clarion) took fourth spot at 1:06 ahead of top junior rider Tom Lowe (Go Sport Spex) who was a further 34 seconds slower. Experienced John Shaw was the first of a trio of Zepnat RT riders, the veteran coming home seventh, 1:47 behind the winner.

Cox steps up a gear in Devon

South West League stalwart Vin Cox ( scored another victory in the seventh round of the series staged at SouthDartmoorCollege in Ashburton, Devon.

Cox crossed the line 30 seconds clear of his nearest rival on Sunday after coming through in the second half of the event.

Steve Davies (CCSW), first veteran and second-place rider overall, had led from the start, but after three laps Cox moved up to his rival, and with two laps to the finish he stepped up a gear and ploughed around the muddy but sun-drenched course to take another win, while his team-mate Tim Carpenter was third.

Successful day for Wyre Forest CRC in Bristol

With three riders in the top 10 and one on top of the podium, the Wyre Forest CRC enjoyed a successful day at round eight of the Western League.

With no West Midlands League event this weekend, many riders – including the Wyre Forest team – travelled to Ashton Court in Bristol on Sunday to find some race action.

Paul Prince took victory, while his team-mates Eliott Dinsdale and Mark Leyland were fifth and sixth respectively. Prince and Dinsdale had been part of a leading quartet early in the race, with RAF CC’s Dan Lewis and John’s Bikes RT rider Scott Chalmers.

But as they drifted apart Dinsdale was eventually caught by VC Walcot’s Barry Holley, while Prince edged ahead to win by 46 seconds from Lewis, with Chalmers taking third, a minute ahead of Holley.


Williams climbs the podium in Pembrey

Second in the last round, Abergavenny RC’s Lee Williams went one better in the eighth round of the Welsh Cyclo-Cross League at Pembrey, beating Gateway RT rival Andrew Baum into second by about a minute-and-a-half.


Wessex Cyclo-Cross League
Cowley, Oxford, round nine
1 Adrian Lansley (Pedal On) 1:06:24
2 Tim Dunford (Hargroves Cycles) 0:01:24
3 Mike Groves (Hargroves Cycles) 0:01:39
4 Scott Forbes (Pedal On) 0:02:19
5 Matt MacDonald (Hargroves Cycles) 0:02:52
6 Mike Warner (Hargroves Cycles) 0:04:26
7 Paul Prince (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:05:03
8 Garry Allen (GA Cycles) 0:06:01
9 Steve James (Mountain Trax) 0:07:03
10 Sam Allen (North Hampshire RC) 0:07:11
Veterans: Garry Allen
Juniors: Steve James
Under-23s: Sam Allen
Women: Jasmine Adams (Wyre Forest CRC)
1 Rob Yeatman (Oxonian CC) 0:31:29
2 Harvey Lowe (GA Cycles) 0:00:22
3 Charlie White (DHC) 0:02:23
1 Jack Phillips (Chapel Tri Stars) 0:14:04
2 Robin Gronbech (Oxford City RC) 0:00:38
3 Tom Sewell (Swindon RC) 0:00:57
Notts & Derby Cyclo-Cross League
Bolsover, Derbyshire, round 11
1 Ben Eedy (South Pennine RC) 0:48:16
2 Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor) 0:00:16
3 Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC) 0:00:31
4 Rob Parkin (Heanor Clarion) 0:01:06
5 Tom Lowe (Go Sports Spex) 0:01:40
6 Steve Adams (Pearl Izumi) 0:01:47
7 John Shaw (Zepnat RT) 0:01:47
8 Rob Wimble (Zepnat RT) 0:02:19
9 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) 0:02:28
10 Dan McLay ( 0:03:20
Juniors: Tom Lowe
Veterans: John Shaw
Women: Annie Last (Zepnat RT)
1 Sam Lowe (Go Sport Spex) 0:24:09
2 Tom Young (Leicester Off Road Club) 0:02:01
3 Ben Green (VC Long Eaton) 0:02:55
4 Sam Broughton (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:02:55
5 Keiron Tennyson (Heanor Clarion) 0:02:59
6 Lucy Garner (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:03:07
Girls: Lucy Garner
Under-14s: Keiron Tennyson
1 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) 0:14:12
2 Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC) 0:00:09
3 Charlotte Broughton (Leicester Off-Road Club) 0:00:17
1 Scott Hookway (Sherwood CC) 0:08:46
2 Louis Gray-Blest (Bulwell BMX) 0:00:12
3 John Webster (Matlock CC) 0:00:12
South West Cyclo-Cross League
Ashburton, Devon
1 Vin Cox ( 0:59:07
2 Steve Davies (CCSW) 0:00:30
3 Tim Carpenter ( 0:01:00
4 John Peters (CS South Hams)
5 Anthony Green (GA Cycles)
6 Jason Pascoe (Cyclelogic)
7 Lewis Eggar (unattached)
8 Stuart Pickering (Cyclelogic)
9 Adrian CLode (Trigon-JJ Coach)
10 Nick Lumb (Exeter Wheelers)
Veterans: Steve Davies
Juniors: Sam Sparks
Women: Maddie Horton (Team Certini)
1 Jacob James (Halesowen A&CC)
2 Dan Nash (St Austell Wheelers)
3 Mark Percival (CCSW)
4 Sam Ackland
5 Eric Brook
6 Sam Hann (Tiverton BMX)
1 Will Kelly (Mid-Devon CC)
2 Nathan Olsen (Duchy Pirates BMX)
3 Oliver Souch (Mid-Devon CC)
Girls: Carla Hodson (Trigon-JJ Coach)
Western Cyclo-Cross League
Ashton Court, Bristol
1 Paul Prince (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:54:40
2 Dan Lewis (RAF CC) 0:00:46
3 Scott Chalmers (John’s Bikes RT) 0:01:06
4 Barry Holley (VC Walcot) 0:02:07
5 Elliott Dinsdale (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:02:30
6 Mark Leyland (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:02:55
7 David Attwell (John’s Bikes RT) 0:03:55
8 Richard Miller (Dream Mechanics) 1 lap
9 Jason Streather (VC St Raphael) 1 lap
10 Chaz Thursfield (Dream Mechanics) 1 lap
Veterans: Andy Melton (Chippenham & Dist Wh)
Youths: Ed Matthew
Under-12s: Finlay Hardie
Welsh Cyclo-Cross League
Pembrey, Wales, round eight
1 Lee Williams (Abergavenny RC) 0:49:23
2 Andrew Baum (Gateway RT) 0:01:35
3 Richard Bowen (Gateway RT) 0:01:57
4 Phil Morris (Dambusters) 0:01:58
5 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF)
6 Nigel Hay (Pedal Power RT)
7 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon RC)
8 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
9 Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC)
10 Matthew Jones (Cwmcarn Paragon RC)
Juniors: Matthew Jones
Veterans: Ian Jeremiah
Women: Claire Bowen (Gateway RT)
1 William Worral (Towy Riders)
2 Sam Anstice (Newport Velo)
3 Luke Cornish (Towy Riders)
Girls: Amy Roberts (Lifeforce)
Under-14 boys: Owen James (Towy Riders)
Under-14 girls: Rebecca Hunt (Newport Velo)
Under-12 boys: Nathan Llewellyn (Maindy Flyers)
Under-12 girls: Emily Haycox (Maindy Flyers)