UK cyclo-cross round-up: Oldham storms to victory

Series leader Field now just six points ahead

Paul Oldham stormed to victory at Chantry Park in Ipswich

Series leader Ian Field had to settle for third spot after Paul Oldham  stormed to a dramatic victory at Chantry Park in Ipswich.


Lancashire-based Oldham (Hope Factory Racing), last year’s National Trophy winner, made the most of his 500-mile round trip with a narrow victory which closes the gap on Field to just six points.

The course and conditions were well suited to Oldham’s style of riding, with plenty of mud, but he finished only five seconds ahead of Jody Crawforth (Arctic Premier RT) and nine seconds before third-placed Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles).

Those three had been together for much of the race and stayed together until the final circuit, where Oldham made his move with 300-400 yards to go and held his advantage to the line.

“I’m well happy to win,” said Oldham. “It was a great course and just the sort of conditions I like. It was muddy but still rideable.

“I thought it would have split early on but for some reason the three of us stayed together, once we had shaken off the Science in Sport riders.

“It makes the title race interesting now it’s tough at the top. But I wouldn’t want to be in Ian’s position, because everybody has a bad day in yellow at Mallory Park, where the next round is.”

With this year’s series having six rounds – one more than usual – it is still wide open, with Field leading with 140 points from Oldham on 134 and Crawforth on 128.

Newall wins with one-minute lead in London League

With many of the regular riders tackling the Chantry Park course in Ipswich, Jamie Newall (VC Meudon) took victory in the seventh round of the London League at Chainhurst in Kent.

He crossed the line about one minute ahead of Team Corridori rival Chris Ansell, while youngster Billy-Joe Whenman (Sport Beans-Wilier) was third.

Wet conditions suit Western League’s Moseley

With the wet and slippery conditions suiting him, Luke Moseley (Climb On Bikes) won the Western League event at Stroud by a comfortable margin.

Title favourite Scott Chalmers was riding the National Trophy Series event in Suffolk, leaving the way open for other riders to chase victory. Moseley hit the front early in the race and maintained a good gap right to the line.

The battle for second spot was closely fought, with Simon Burgess (Dream CC) comfortably leading Barry Holly (VC Walcot) until the last couple of laps.

Holly came up to his rival quickly but then lost his chain. He caught back up after Burgess slipped off his machine. When they emerged from the woods on the final lap Burgess was ahead, but Holley edged ahead by one second on the line.

Baum returns to top in Welsh League

Relegated to second in the last round, Andrew Baum (Gateway RT) returned to the top of the podium with a comfortable win in the fourth round of the Welsh League at the Carmarthen Showground.


He won by 1-41 from Phil Morris (Dambusters), while veteran Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon CC) was third.

National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series (Chantry Park, Ipswich, 14 miles):
1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 1:00:52
2 Jody Crawforth (Arctic Premier RT) 0:00:05
3 Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) 0:00:09
4 Ian Wilkinson (Science in Sport) 0:01:31
5 Dave Collins (Science in Sport) 0:01:57
6 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase)
7 Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman) 0:02:24
8 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) 0:02:36
9 Oscar Vazquez (Spain) 0:03:42
10 Tomas Dernackt (Asra Flanders RT) 0:03:57
Under-23s: Ben Roach (Wyre Forest CRC)
1 Geoff Giddings (MI Racing) 0:40:56
2 Chris Young (JD Cycles) 0:00:47
3 Anthony Green (GA Cycles) 0:00:55
1 Ian Wright (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:43:27
2 Roy Hunt (Colnago) 0:00:12
3 Malcolm Cross (Hargroves Cycles) 0:00:21
1 Suzanne Clarke (Science in Sport) 0:38:05
2 Annie Last (Zepn0:RT) 0:00:37
3 Nikki Harris (Wieler Team de Sprinters Malderen) 0:01:21
1 Sam Harrison (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) 0:43:08
2 Oliver Webster (JD Cycles) 0:00:59
3 Paul Young (JD Cycles) 0:01:19
Women Juniors: Ruby Miller
1 Max Sykes (VC Deal) 0:26:40
2 Alistair Slater (Bourne Wheelers) 0:00:03
3 Joshua Papworth (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:00:10
Girls: Hannah Payton (Stourbridge CC)
London Cyclo-Cross League (Chainhurst, Kent, 12 miles):
1 Jamie Newall (VC Meudon) 1:02:36
2 Chris Ansell (Team Corridori) 0:01:00
3 Billy-Joe Whenman (Sport Beans:Wilier)
4 Stuart Jones (London Phoenix)
5 Patrick Roussell (VC Chaumont)
6 Jakob Wollendorf (Jakob
Juniors: Corrinne Hall (Team Corridori)
Women: Corrinne Hall
Veterans: Matt Seaton (Mosquito Bikes RT)
Under-16s: Jack Finch (VC Londres)
Girls: Alice Barnes (Palmer Park Velo)
Western Cyclo-Cross League (Stroud, Gloucester, 12 miles):
1 Luke Moseley (Climb On Bikes RT) 0:54:48
2 Barry Holley (VC Walcot) 0:02:12
3 Simon Burgess (Dream CC) 0:02:13
4 Craig Denning (Dream CC) 0:03:26
5 Peter Kench (GWR Team) 0:04:03
6 Matt Davies (Brooks Cycles) 0:06:40
7 Paula Moseley (Climb On Bikes) RT)
8 Chas Thursford (Dream CC)
9 Mark Hardie (Lee Valley CC)
10 Jamie Pembroke (unattached)
Women: Paula Moseley
Veterans: Mark Hardie
Welsh Cyclo-Cross League (Carmarthen Showground, 10 miles):
1 Andrew Baum (Gateway RT) 0:53:20
2 Phil Morris (Dambusters CC) 0:01:41
3 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) at 0:03:10
4 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
5 Richard Bowen (Gateway RT)
6 Paul Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
7 Andy Pearce (Forza Cycles)
8 Andrew Parry (Abergavenny RC)
9 Lynn Lines (Gatew0:RT)
10 Simon Nurse (Cardiff JIF)
Juniors: Jack Newton (Towy Riders)
Veterans: Ross Porter
Women: Jessica Allen (Halfords Bikehut)
Youth: William Worrall (Towy Riders)